Bang O-Matic Drivers

Do you like this product?

4.6

OUT OF 5
25 GolfReview reviews

3.5

OUT OF 5
21 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

46 REVIEWS

4.1

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

O-Matic

  • The head of the Bang-O-Matic is cast
  • Casting is more consistent than forging
  • O-Matic appeal to players that dislike great big clubheads
  • To accomplish what Bang Golf wanted to which is Flow Alignment (FA) they had to cast

Showing 11-20 of 25 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (25)

t101p   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 21, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Bang-O-Matic 460CC

I have been looking for this club for over 30 years. I am a high ball hitter and with the 4.5 degree I hit it lower and longer.I now carry two drivers in the bag, the Bang-O-Matic for the left to right holes and my Ping G2 for the right to left holes.This club is so easy to hit. Just tee it up and swing away. It also has such a great sound when you hit it.My guys I play golf with are sorry I ever fond this club !!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
calvin   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 11, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Bang Bang-O-Matic 460 cc 9*

I had been playing the 460 & 400 King Cobra. I found I have more manipulation of my swing and more control of the ball on all pars ecspecially the par 4 doglegs, not to mention this club is putting the ball down low and giving me about 40+ more yards of air time not to mention the role. I'm playing with a grafalloy prolaunch blue 75g w/ 43" from the hozel. With a swing speed of 98mph and 75g x-stiff........average 345 yds.

Similar Products Used: 454 big bertha callaway 10*, 460sz & 400sz king cobra 10.5*
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
slammin sammy   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 06, 2006]
Model Reviewed: BangO-Matic 460

This is an amazing golf club! I hit the ball long-average 310-315 yards and a few longer depending on where I'm playing (ie-Colorado-WOW it is a cannon). The sound is a real steroid booster and it is straight (assuming your swing is too). I find that the ball is movable, fade and draws are no problem. If your looking to save half the name brand price and looking to improve your distance, then you will not believe the beauty of this weapon. Try it- at $200 more or less, its well worth it.

Customer Service

I am 6 hdcp and play 3-4 times a week.

Similar Products Used: Nothing, except the Geek Golf "Fail
Safe" (same guy who started Bang Golf).
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jerryBag   Shoots in the 80s [May 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Bang-O-Matic

Using the Bang-O-Matic 10.5 with 48" Aldila NV65 Regular. Not as straight as the SMT Spectrum since I'm losing a few to the right, however, much more consistent, gave up on the Spectrum.

What's really nice about this club is that it's straight, but when you work the club, because it is so straight, the ball won't turn until after 240 yards or so.

This is super because before, when I was playing with Titleist, 983k, 905t, 905r, & Callaways, on long dogleg par4's, if I tried to work the ball, it would begin to turn before the dogleg. Which is why I couldn't shape shots with those previous drivers since I'd just shape myself into trouble.

Not so with the Bang-O-Matic. I bombed one 395 yds on the first hole today, almost reached a 421 yd par4. Such a sweet feeling on the tee box, puts fear into playing partners, $$$!!!

I am getting a 12 deg with a Stiff Accuflex Evolution, so I can shut the face a little and see if I can easily draw with this club and do a Phil by putting 2 drivers in the bag!

Similar Products Used: Titleist 983k, 905t, 905r, Callaway BB Hawkeye VFT, BB II, Cobra 460 Comp, SMT Spectrum
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Mike   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 19, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Bang O Matic

Bang O Matic 12* very sweet club been using it for 2 weeks now. I went with a 12* because of only having a 85 MPH speed swing. I was using a Callaway C4 which I liked but was a 10*. Im now actually getting 15+ yards on my drives the combitation of the new driver and new loft. It sounds sweet too hitting thr ball!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Callaway C4
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
JohnD#1   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Bang-O-Matic

One word awsome! I averge about 300yards with my TaylorMade Q7 420cc. And my freind hits nothing but 460's and i cant stand that big shoe on a stick thing so i told him not untill i see a 460cc in a small head well hear it is. This clubs has taken 4 or 5 strokes off my game and now im averge of 310-315, and on one hole 355yard par 4 i drove the green in the air and just landed off the green and almost chiped in for my first eagle. This driver is good so i want out and bought the 7wood and loved that even more then the driver i hit that like 230 and is relible like a short iron. Now I like it when people are waiting for use to tee off on the first hole so i can see ther face drop when i step up and crush it, then they all ask me what the he## is that driver im using and the all say they never hearded of it and i always say its a long drive company.

Customer Service

very good not a big company so they treat the customer's very good. Comstize shaft and loft all for $260 got it in three days on regular shipping.

Similar Products Used: TaylorMade 400 burner, TaylorMade Q7, Ignite 420,
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
orangecrush58   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 08, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Bang Bang-o-matic

The Bangomatic is the best driver head I have tried...hands down. As a lower ball hitter I've got the 14* model and it has been a savior to my tee game. Not only is it the longest, it is the most accurate driver I have tried. The ball just wants to go straight. One thing of note to all those who assemble your own clubs. The BOM has a very deep bore. Thus, it makes a regular shaft play more like a firm/stiff and a stiff play more like an x-stiff and so on. So if you put one of these together, I would go with a bit softer flex than you usually play for the best results. Negatives: VERY loud. Chrome racing stripes on back of head will not be liked by some. Although once you start hammering it, it's funny how they grow on you.

Similar Products Used: Bang 450, Bang Mellow Yellow
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
live714golf760   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 09, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Bang O Matic 9*

Longest driver ive hit! I dont currently use this driver because i cant keep it straight. The only complaint is the weight. I prefer a heavier swingweight. Huge sweetspot, crazy sound. Once i get my driver swing situated this goes back in the bag.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: TaylorMade R580XD 10.5, McGregor MacTec 9.5, MacGregor Eye-O-Matic, Ben Hogan CS-3
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
rstone   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 23, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Bang O Matic 10.5 degree

First some background so you can judge apples to apples...I am 6'1", 195 lb and 50+ who plays the mini-tours professionally and, like everyone else, is in constant search for the perfect driver. I have given up on the OEM drivers after winning just one tournament with a Cleveland Launcher 460 and an unsucessful bout with the hyped up Taylor Made R-7 with a Graffaloy Blue shaft. I have been plugging thru the lesser names like Integra, SMT and Bang with different shaft combinations. My swing speed is in the 80's and the fitters always say I am borderline between a R and Stiff flex. Most standard weight stiff flex shafts feel like a board to me. I use the Pro V1x ball. First Bang I tried was the Bang Bangenstein FU2 with a stiff flex Aldila shaft and found it ho hum...not much distance and a tendency to slice wildly just when the pressure was on...couldn't be me, had to be the club...Right? In any case, it went out the door and then I picked up a Bang O Matic 10.5 degree with a 47 inch Accuflex Vizion shaft in stiff flex. Kind of a cool look with the Star Trek looking chrome semi circles on the back of the black head...not as cool as the candy apple red SMT 455 db but close... In any case, in comparing the newer Bang Driver (Bangenstein) it was like comparing chicken salad to chicken****. WOW, what a difference!!! The Bang O Matic was so far an improvement over the Bangenstein it is not even in the same league. The Bang O Matic has a high arching trajectory without any balooning that is straight down the middle. No need for more loft that 10.5 (actually it looks more like a 12 degree trajectory) and it easily outdistances all the other drivers I have used recently by 20-30 yards and much, much straighter. The sound at impact is fine and not un-Godly loud like some have reported. My average drive is 250 to 275 yards with the Bang O Matic and yes, I have had longer drives in my career (my record in competition is 360 yards with a (now illegal) Integra 650 cc SOO Long...but there is nothing in the "legal for comptetion drivers" now to match the consistency and length of the Bang O Matic. In comparing the best four drivers I have ever used, it would be: 1st) Bang O Matic with Vizion shaft 2)Cleveland Launcher with stock shaft 3)SMT 455 db with the same type of Vizion shaft and...well, the others are not even close enough to be in consideration, including the R-7. Try the Bang O Matic...it is cheap (under $200 brand new) in comparison and it may really surprise you!

Customer Service

Unfortunately, NOT a good experience...wrote to the company inquiring about a sponsorship (mini tour pros are always looking for sponsors) and they didn't even bother to return an email with a "don't call us, we'll call you" note. Makes me doubt they would be helpful if I really needed customer service on their product. But that won't stop me from giving the Bang O Matic a good review...it is that great a driver!

Similar Products Used: Integra Soo Long 450 (piece of crap) Bang Bangestein FU2 (another piece of crap) SMT 455 DB (good driver that was long but had a left hook tendency that could be fatal) Taylor Made R7 (nothing special but an expensive load of hype). Cleveland Launcher 460 (excellent club but not as consistent as the Bang O Matic and maybe 5-10 yards shorter on average). Smith and Wesson 300 cc (a good better than average club but technology has passed it by...hope they can re-enter the market soon).
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
terrynutkins   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 21, 2005]
Model Reviewed: 12 degree, accuflex ProLD 48" x

bought this to compare to the SMT455DB and for me... I prefer the feel of the 455DB. Its a very nice looking club and at 48" it's longer (in both senses) than anything you'll find retail. This would be an excellent way to pick up 'longest drive' honours on a regular basis, oddly I feel that consistency has a part to play in hitting it a very long way and even if this club was 20 yards longer than my SMT I'd probably still pick the SMT because I'm confident of landing that in-bounds every time. In reality it's probably just the same as the SMT in terms of distance off of the tee. As with all of my drivers I favour a bit more loft than normal, hitting it high isn't a bad thing if you get the shaft and ball selection right. I'm probably hitting this around 285-290 with range balls, add another 20 for Prov1x. Its good but not my favourite.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
Showing 11-20 of 25 | Prev 10 | Next 10