Ben Hogan Apex Edge Irons

Do you like this product?

4.7

OUT OF 5
117 GolfReview reviews

3.6

OUT OF 5
100 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

217 REVIEWS

4.2

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

Apex Edge

From Ben Hogan Golf: "The Ben Hogan Apex Edge is the first two-piece forged iron with a forged Carbon Steel frame and forged face. This breakthrough technology, coupled with many other unique game-improvement design features, make the Apex Edge extremely easy to play. Now passionate golfers of all ability levels can experience the feel only Ben Hogan forged irons can provide."

Showing 11-20 of 117 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (117)

fredlvhogans   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 30, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Apex Edge irons

Just traded my Hogan CFT irons in for the Apex Edge. Very happy with the trade. Better feel when you hit them good and am able to hit the 3 and 4 irons with confidence. I loved the CFT's but always wanted an all forged irod set - frame and face.

Customer Service

none.

Similar Products Used: Hogan CFT EDGE
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
buttersweigel   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Apex Edge

Bought these irons last week and can't believe what a great purchase it was. Aside from being a beautiful set of clubs, they perform amazingly well. I carry a 12 handicap, but see myself as more of an 8 or 9 in the coming months simply because of the clubs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Glencap1   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 21, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge 3-E

I just picked up a nice used set for $125 and couldn't be more pleased. They're dead accurate and give plenty of feedback when you don't hit them pure. When hit pure they are soft as air and the ball flys long and true. The topline is a little thicker than I expected but they are otherwise a handsome set of game improvement irons that don't look like they came from Toys'R Us like most of the newer clubs.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MX-25
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
mikefjohnson11   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge Irons

Okay,

I have had these irons for about 6 yrs and I now see that they are selling this exact model again, so I thought it was time for my 2 cents. I recently decided that I thought I needed new irons, so I went to a local shop and tried out a set of Callaway x-18s. I hit the Callaways against my Hogans, and after it about 20 balls I came to the quick realization, that I love my Hogans, and no other iron will suffice for me.

My natural ball flight is a draw, and these are extremely easy to draw at will for, including the long irons. I never try to fade the ball on purpose, so I can't speak to that.

These irons have a pure feeling that only a forged club can provide, but the cavity back design also make them extremely playable for even higher handicaps.

I am not a big hitter (drive the ball about (220-250), but I can easily pump the 3 iron 210 of the tee.

Now that these are on the market again, I thought it be a diservice to not tell all you would be iron buyers just how wonderful a club this is.

If you desire the feel only forged can provide with game improving forgivness, then you owe it yourself to demo these irons that have stood the test of time.

Customer Service

Not used

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
FVHowler   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge, Steel, #3

These Apex Edge irons are awesome! I have been unsettled on irons over the last year trying different brands, cavity backs, blades, etc... I found the Apex Edges for a steal and have been very pleased. They are forged but they play more like a typical game improvement, cavity back iron. They are a little heavy and I like that. I have always liked Hogan irons and these hit as beautifully as they look! If you like a classic looking iron that is a easy to hit, these are for you.

Customer Service

None needed.

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armour 845, Ben Hogan BH-5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Padde821   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge 06

Sell your blades (as I did - any many tour players by the way) & buy a set of these forged Apex Edge 2006er Modell irons.
They are long, very forgiving and I can still play a long boring fade that stops on a dime and feel it!
They definitely do not ruin a round with only a few mis-hits as blades sometimes do. I feel ready to go direction an even par round, rather than fighting not to go over 80 again.
As a golf purist I guarantee that you are looking at a traditional shaped iron rather than shovels.
Make sure you get the right shaft too. I would prefer the Rifle Flighted series over the Apex steel shafts.

Customer Service

no experience

Similar Products Used: Wilson, Ping, Callaway, Taylor Made etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Aznan   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 24, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge

Yes I shoot in the 90s but after a couple more games, I should be shooting 80s very soon. I've been playing for almost 1.5 years and my progress has been slow vs my expectations. I am a relatively long hitter; my drives consistently hit 240-250 yards but my iron play never matched my tee off. Very inconsistent.

A few of my buddies told me that with my power I should go with steel shafts. It was probably the best advice ever given to me (apart from the advice telling me to be nice to my mother). I scouted around, asked around and looked around for some forged cavity back steel shaft sets. One day a few weeks ago a female friend of mine told me that she could lend me a set which someone gave her and which she did not use - the BH Apex Edge. Tried it on the range a few times. Took getting used to. I use a beautiful S-yard U101 forged iron set with graphite shafts given to me by my father who is 65 and plays 6 handicap. Very good distance but very light (swing weight C6 - D1) and was probably one of the main reasons for my wayward iron shots.

Hitting the new clubs with a swing weight of ~D1, I had a terrible back-ache for 3 days and went to the course for my first game. The 1st nine was horrible. Shot in the teens, could not get proper contact though shots were less wayward. Made my first par on hole 7 and never looked back from there after getting a better feel.

Though not as good as my S-Yard, the feel was nice and soft and off centre hits were more forgiving. Perfect hits were... well...perfect. Relatively high ball flight and much straighter than my S-yard. Easy to push the ball out of the rough due to the weight. Lost about 10-15 yards comparing similar clubs (my 7 irons used to go 175 yards, now around 160) but I absolutely love the better accuracy. Had my best score ever on the 2nd nine, shot a 5 over 41 including a stretch of 5 straight pars! And the best part is, after the gain in confidence, I attempted something never tried before. A bad drive put me in the rough behind a small tree around 155 yards from the green. A straight shot would leave me right of the green. I CONSCIOUSLY pulled my right foot back a couple of inches and hit a wonderful 8 iron draw that overshot the green slightly, LEFT of the hole.

OK OK. They say G.O.L.F. is a Game Of Luck and Flukes and my 41 was maybe just that, but the only difference between that day and other days was the irons. Will have another game tomorrow to confirm but honestly I'm quite sure that I've found the right iron set for me. They look classy in the bag. They look great holding them at address. But more importantly they hit great; high, long and true.

My main worry now - what if my friend Norlin asks me to return the clubs to her?

Norlin if you're reading this, will you marry me?

Customer Service

Nil so far

Similar Products Used: Not similar but used Callaway Big Bertha Graphite shafts and S-Yard U101 Graphite shafts
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Josh Freezer   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 03, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex edge

I have been struggling to find a club that gives me necessary distance and feel but these set of hogans do just the trick. My game has lifted and i am cutting 10 strokes a round of my score. If hit soundly i would go as far as to say these are the best set of irons going around. Ben Hogan has made a terrific set of irons to comply with golfers needs from low handicappers to high ones as well! Dont $1000 its not worth it as these are about 800 australian and are as good as the best in the business.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Nike
Callaway
taylor maded rac irons
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Gray D   Shoots in the 80s [May 25, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge

I had been playing Ping I-3's for a few years, and I didn't have any problems with them at all. I was killing time at the Golf Galaxy, and I saw a used set of the Hogans for under $200. After hitting them for a while, I threw away my preconceptions of Hogan irons being hard to hit. This club has a soft feel that goes through the impact. But it also gives the player responsive feedback concerning impact. Of course, the best thing about these clubs is that they have the handsome styling of everything that Ben Hogan makes.

Similar Products Used: Ping I-3
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
funamotoa   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 04, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Apex Edge

This iron is a very nice set of Ben Hogans. They are heavily perimeter weighted, similar to nike's slignshots, except that they look much classier. They are quite heavy, but the extra weight really helps the ball into the air. When you make solid contact with them the ball has such a beautiful flight. Another thing is that they have a super soft feel. They hardly feel perimeter weighted at all. They are worth 1000$ although I bought my set on ebay for just about 400$CND. Great clubs, but be sure to check out others in this category: nike slingshot, Ben Hogan CFT, and or Jazz fat cat 3 (if you're Canadian).

Similar Products Used: nike slingshot, Ben Hogan CFT, and or Jazz fat cat 3 (if you're Canadian).
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Showing 11-20 of 117 | Prev 10 | Next 10