Ben Hogan Apex Edge Irons

Do you like this product?

4.7

OUT OF 5
116 GolfReview reviews

3.7

OUT OF 5
94 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

210 REVIEWS

4.2

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

Apex Edge

From Ben Hogan Golf: "The Ben Hogan Apex Edge is the first two-piece forged iron with a forged Carbon Steel frame and forged face. This breakthrough technology, coupled with many other unique game-improvement design features, make the Apex Edge extremely easy to play. Now passionate golfers of all ability levels can experience the feel only Ben Hogan forged irons can provide."

Showing 11-20 of 116 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (116)

buttersweigel   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Apex Edge

Bought these irons last week and can't believe what a great purchase it was. Aside from being a beautiful set of clubs, they perform amazingly well. I carry a 12 handicap, but see myself as more of an 8 or 9 in the coming months simply because of the clubs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Glencap1   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 21, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge 3-E

I just picked up a nice used set for $125 and couldn't be more pleased. They're dead accurate and give plenty of feedback when you don't hit them pure. When hit pure they are soft as air and the ball flys long and true. The topline is a little thicker than I expected but they are otherwise a handsome set of game improvement irons that don't look like they came from Toys'R Us like most of the newer clubs.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MX-25
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
mikefjohnson11   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge Irons

Okay,

I have had these irons for about 6 yrs and I now see that they are selling this exact model again, so I thought it was time for my 2 cents. I recently decided that I thought I needed new irons, so I went to a local shop and tried out a set of Callaway x-18s. I hit the Callaways against my Hogans, and after it about 20 balls I came to the quick realization, that I love my Hogans, and no other iron will suffice for me.

My natural ball flight is a draw, and these are extremely easy to draw at will for, including the long irons. I never try to fade the ball on purpose, so I can't speak to that.

These irons have a pure feeling that only a forged club can provide, but the cavity back design also make them extremely playable for even higher handicaps.

I am not a big hitter (drive the ball about (220-250), but I can easily pump the 3 iron 210 of the tee.

Now that these are on the market again, I thought it be a diservice to not tell all you would be iron buyers just how wonderful a club this is.

If you desire the feel only forged can provide with game improving forgivness, then you owe it yourself to demo these irons that have stood the test of time.

Customer Service

Not used

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
FVHowler   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge, Steel, #3

These Apex Edge irons are awesome! I have been unsettled on irons over the last year trying different brands, cavity backs, blades, etc... I found the Apex Edges for a steal and have been very pleased. They are forged but they play more like a typical game improvement, cavity back iron. They are a little heavy and I like that. I have always liked Hogan irons and these hit as beautifully as they look! If you like a classic looking iron that is a easy to hit, these are for you.

Customer Service

None needed.

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armour 845, Ben Hogan BH-5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Padde821   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge 06

Sell your blades (as I did - any many tour players by the way) & buy a set of these forged Apex Edge 2006er Modell irons.
They are long, very forgiving and I can still play a long boring fade that stops on a dime and feel it!
They definitely do not ruin a round with only a few mis-hits as blades sometimes do. I feel ready to go direction an even par round, rather than fighting not to go over 80 again.
As a golf purist I guarantee that you are looking at a traditional shaped iron rather than shovels.
Make sure you get the right shaft too. I would prefer the Rifle Flighted series over the Apex steel shafts.

Customer Service

no experience

Similar Products Used: Wilson, Ping, Callaway, Taylor Made etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Aznan   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 24, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge

Yes I shoot in the 90s but after a couple more games, I should be shooting 80s very soon. I've been playing for almost 1.5 years and my progress has been slow vs my expectations. I am a relatively long hitter; my drives consistently hit 240-250 yards but my iron play never matched my tee off. Very inconsistent.

A few of my buddies told me that with my power I should go with steel shafts. It was probably the best advice ever given to me (apart from the advice telling me to be nice to my mother). I scouted around, asked around and looked around for some forged cavity back steel shaft sets. One day a few weeks ago a female friend of mine told me that she could lend me a set which someone gave her and which she did not use - the BH Apex Edge. Tried it on the range a few times. Took getting used to. I use a beautiful S-yard U101 forged iron set with graphite shafts given to me by my father who is 65 and plays 6 handicap. Very good distance but very light (swing weight C6 - D1) and was probably one of the main reasons for my wayward iron shots.

Hitting the new clubs with a swing weight of ~D1, I had a terrible back-ache for 3 days and went to the course for my first game. The 1st nine was horrible. Shot in the teens, could not get proper contact though shots were less wayward. Made my first par on hole 7 and never looked back from there after getting a better feel.

Though not as good as my S-Yard, the feel was nice and soft and off centre hits were more forgiving. Perfect hits were... well...perfect. Relatively high ball flight and much straighter than my S-yard. Easy to push the ball out of the rough due to the weight. Lost about 10-15 yards comparing similar clubs (my 7 irons used to go 175 yards, now around 160) but I absolutely love the better accuracy. Had my best score ever on the 2nd nine, shot a 5 over 41 including a stretch of 5 straight pars! And the best part is, after the gain in confidence, I attempted something never tried before. A bad drive put me in the rough behind a small tree around 155 yards from the green. A straight shot would leave me right of the green. I CONSCIOUSLY pulled my right foot back a couple of inches and hit a wonderful 8 iron draw that overshot the green slightly, LEFT of the hole.

OK OK. They say G.O.L.F. is a Game Of Luck and Flukes and my 41 was maybe just that, but the only difference between that day and other days was the irons. Will have another game tomorrow to confirm but honestly I'm quite sure that I've found the right iron set for me. They look classy in the bag. They look great holding them at address. But more importantly they hit great; high, long and true.

My main worry now - what if my friend Norlin asks me to return the clubs to her?

Norlin if you're reading this, will you marry me?

Customer Service

Nil so far

Similar Products Used: Not similar but used Callaway Big Bertha Graphite shafts and S-Yard U101 Graphite shafts
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Josh Freezer   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 03, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex edge

I have been struggling to find a club that gives me necessary distance and feel but these set of hogans do just the trick. My game has lifted and i am cutting 10 strokes a round of my score. If hit soundly i would go as far as to say these are the best set of irons going around. Ben Hogan has made a terrific set of irons to comply with golfers needs from low handicappers to high ones as well! Dont $1000 its not worth it as these are about 800 australian and are as good as the best in the business.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Nike
Callaway
taylor maded rac irons
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Gray D   Shoots in the 80s [May 25, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge

I had been playing Ping I-3's for a few years, and I didn't have any problems with them at all. I was killing time at the Golf Galaxy, and I saw a used set of the Hogans for under $200. After hitting them for a while, I threw away my preconceptions of Hogan irons being hard to hit. This club has a soft feel that goes through the impact. But it also gives the player responsive feedback concerning impact. Of course, the best thing about these clubs is that they have the handsome styling of everything that Ben Hogan makes.

Similar Products Used: Ping I-3
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
funamotoa   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 04, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Apex Edge

This iron is a very nice set of Ben Hogans. They are heavily perimeter weighted, similar to nike's slignshots, except that they look much classier. They are quite heavy, but the extra weight really helps the ball into the air. When you make solid contact with them the ball has such a beautiful flight. Another thing is that they have a super soft feel. They hardly feel perimeter weighted at all. They are worth 1000$ although I bought my set on ebay for just about 400$CND. Great clubs, but be sure to check out others in this category: nike slingshot, Ben Hogan CFT, and or Jazz fat cat 3 (if you're Canadian).

Similar Products Used: nike slingshot, Ben Hogan CFT, and or Jazz fat cat 3 (if you're Canadian).
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
RMP690   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 07, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge

I have used Hogan irons for over ten years (H40 - circa 1993), so I was predisposed to like Hogan clubs. They are indisputably well crafted and handsome to look at. That said, I buy irons every ten years, so I tried many brands to find the right fit for my game. I compared these to: Cobra SSI, Ping G2, Titleist 840OS, Cleveland TA6, Callaway X16, and Hogan Edge CFT. In the end, I bought these because they offered an excellent balance of game improvement features and playability. The game improvement features I like are the offset, larger head, and the wide sole for lift and forgiveness. The playability features I like are the forged heads, responsive Apex Edge shaft, and the fact that the offset is progressive (more offset in the long irons and little in the short irons). This last point is key for me, because I found that I drew or pulled the short irons that have a lot of offset like the G2's and the X16's. That said, I definitely need the offset in my long irons to eliminate a push or fade. This combination of features definitely works. I hit all of the irons laser straight, with virtually no side spin. This may be a downside for single digit handicappers, but with today's balls, few people "work" the ball anymore. The long irons are much longer than my old irons, if not inherently, then because I hit them clean so much more often due to the larger head and the offset. The heads are very forgiving on fat hits. The longest shots with the short irons are no longer than my old irons, but these have a higher trajectory, and therefore, my distance is much more consistently long. In fact, I'm in awe of the distance control of these irons. I hit four 3-irons off of one par 4 tee last week, and they ended up in a stratight line across the fairway at 190/195 yards. The feel and feedback is perfect for my game: enough to tell when you miss the center, but never harsh - even on thin hits. The weight and balance are such that you can tell where the clubhead is - and bring it to the ball the same every time - which probably contributes to the distance control. Single digit guys might want to consider the Apex shaft in lieu of the Apex Edge shaft for slightly more feel (higher kick-point, more weight). I hit straight with the Apex Edge shaft, so it's right for me. These clubs are beautiful to look at, and look like hand-crafted tools. With the Pings, I can't get past the image of a Dr. Seuse-looking machine stamping them out on an assembly line. Now the best part: I bought these new on E-BAY for $317 (3-PW). I then picked up three matching wedges (F/S/L) used, but in excellent condition, on E-BAY for $75. I got the whole set of forged irons for under $400. I was fitted, and I'm a standard length/lie in the Hogans, so I can buy right off the rack. I prefer the tour wrap grips, like my old Hogans (and these have tour velvets), but I'll either get used to the velvets or have the set regripped. Alas, these are discontinued clubs (who knows why they stopped making these - maybe because they couldn't imagine mid/high handicappers paying for forged irons?). I tried the CFT's, but they didn't have the same feel or distance. Also, the CFT long irons have a weird-look at address. You can see the back of the cavity sticking out. That isn't true of the Apex Edges, which look pretty traditional at address, other than the larger head and thicker topline. If you can find them on E-BAY, I recommend these for anybody from 5-18 HC. If you're below 5, you can probably play the Apex FTX or a blade - which will give you better distance and feel. If you are above an 18 HC, you probably can't benefit from the playability characteristics of the club, and a cast cavity like the Big Bertha or the Ping has more offset and is more durable for you. I gave these a 5 for value, because they are a steal due to being discontinued. New they were probably a 4, because they were very expensive.

Customer Service

Never used it. Requested a brochure, and they sent it right a way. Hogan has a nice website, with a history of all their iron products and a lot of cool stuff about Ben Hogan.

Similar Products Used: Hogan H40 (my old clubs), Callaway X16 (very nicely made, but not much feel, too much offset in the short irons), Mizuno MX23 (this club was second on my list), Cobra SSI (solid, if unspectacular club, not very attractive), Titleist 840OS (excellent club, but not as forgiving as the Apex Edge), Hogan Edge CFT (very nice, but why buy these when you can get the same playing characteristics in a forging for $300 less?), Cleveland TA6 (wanted to like these, really did, but craftmanship not up to Hogan/Callaway), Ping G2 (great HL long irons, but can't get past the dull finish and flying saucer looks).
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 11-20 of 116 | Prev 10 | Next 10