Ben Hogan Edge Irons

Do you like this product?

4.7

OUT OF 5
41 GolfReview reviews

3

OUT OF 5
8 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

49 REVIEWS

3.9

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

Edge

Showing 1-10 of 41 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (41)

Tod Percle   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 06, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Edge Irons

Also love my old Hogan Edge Iron Set from the late 80s/early 90s. They were my first set and like other posters I keep going back to them for the feel.

I also have a couple of new unopened right hand P through 3 sets - anyone know what they are worth?

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Dave   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 10, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Edge forged irons

I have had my Hogan Edge forged irons since 1994, and they were used then. I love them! I have gone from being a 20+ handicap to now a 10 and still love these. They let you know when you make a poor swing (sore hands help improve my swing at least as much as the swing tips on Golf Channel!) and reward you with that sweet feeling when you are making contact. Sadly, they have been so well used that the grooves are losing their edge and the leading edges of many of the clubs are getting so damaged from the inevitable little rocks/detritus and such that I (occasionally!) hit whilst playing that I now have to (sadly) replace them. Any thoughts on a similar new iron set? I have tried the Adams CB2 irons (also forged) and quite like them but would like to find another set or two to compare...thoughts??

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
cokesh   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 15, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Edge

I just traded a Cleveland driver for a set of these. The clubs are in very nice shape. I tested the 6 iron prior to the trade and I was very impressed. Hitting the rest of the set was the same. Very nice. I do find I hit these farther with my 7 iron averaging about 165 vs around 155 with other irons I've tried. I even hit the long irons better than my hybrids. I have found that I love hitting forged irons. I have had nothing but problems hitting the "max game, and game improvement" irons. The soles and heads in general are just too fat. I may as well have a cinder block on a stick. These aren't super small either, but I can hit them well. I will trade off play between these and the set of Wilson Goose-necks (which also hit beautifully) that I have. Yep, forged irons all the way for me. I'm of the belief that my game will improve if I can feel if I have hit the ball correctly or not. Not having a big trampoline face that lets me play fat/dumb/happy with any old lousy swing.

Similar Products Used: Wilson Goose-neck fg-53, cleveland launcher, callaway x-22, cleveland CG Gold.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Renman   Shoots in the 80s [May 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Edge Original Forged

If you can still find a decent set of these with Apex Steel Shafts, buy them! I originally bought these use about 12 years ago. Since that time, I now have a set of Ping G10's and TM RAC's and I keep going back to the Hogans. They feel very sweet!

Similar Products Used: Ping G10, Taylormade RAC
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
JIM RESTIVO   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: APEX FORGED 2006

THROWADART! FANTASTIC BLADES. YOU KNOW YOU HAVE A GREAT CLUB IN YOUR HANDS WHEN YOU CAN REALLY FEEL THE DIFFERENCE IN THE BALL YOU PLAY. A ROCK HARD BALL OFF THESE STICKS? FORGET IT. GIVE THEM AWAY.
THESE CLUBS WILL TELL YOU... GIVE ME A QUALITY [FEEL] BALL. SOMETHING I CAN SPIN ON TO THE GREEN. EXCEPT FOR 2 SETS OF CAVITY BACKS I HAVE PLAYED FORGED CLUBS FOR OVER 20 YEARS. WILSON, RAM,YONEX,TITLEIST,McGREGOR AND TOP FLIGHT. NOTHING EVEN COMES CLOSE FOR CONTROL/FEEL. I DON'T HIT THE HOGAN'S AS FAR. BUT THAT'S NOT THE POINT. ACCURACY IS THE KEY WITH THESE IRONS. MY ONLY REGRET IS SPENDING SO MUCH MONEY ON OTHER EQUIPMENT. THE FEEL IS SO SWEET ON THESE STICKS. IT'S LIKE I CAN FEEL THE IRON WRAP AROUND THE GOLF BALL. AND THE ACTION, WOW! I GO AFTER SHOTS THAT I'VE NEVER THOUGHT TO TRY BEFORE. THAT OPENS UP A WHOLE NEW SIDE TO THE GAME. I DO HAVE TROUBLE OF HARD,TIGHT LIES WITH THE 3/4 IRONS. BUT I KNOW IT'S THEPLAYER,NOT THE CLUB. OFF A DECENT LIE,NO PROBLEM. SMALL MARGIN FOR ERROR MAKES YOU IMPROVE.
APPROACH IRONS.. THE MORE YOU PINCH THE BALL THE MORE IT WILL SPIN. JUST MAKE GOOD CONTACT. I WAS SO TAKEN BY THE PLAYABILITY THAT I REPLACED MY OTHER STICKS WITH HOGAN HYBRIDS 0-1-2-3-4 AND
CARNOUSTIE WEDGES. I DROPPED 6 STROKES IN ONE SEASON. NOW I GO TO THE COURSE AND DECIDE [OTHER THAN MY TRUSTY PUTTER +
DRIVER] WHICH 3 CLUBS ARE STAYING IN THE
CAR. WHAT A GAS TO HAVE WHAT AMOUNTS TO AN ADJUSTABLE GAME. YOU CAN PUT THIS SET TOGETHER USED FOR THE PRICE OF A NEW DRIVER. I BOUGHT MY STUFF AT CLOSE OUT PRICES. WITH THE MONEY I SAVED I WAS ABLE TO PLAY ALL SEASON [LIFE IS GOOD].

Customer Service

CALLAWAY IS MAKING A HUGE MISTAKE FOR STOPPING THE HOGAN LINE

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Frank Gomez   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 06, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Apex FTX

I can't think of better looking club than these. Beautiful irons that play as good as they look. Even though they are considered blades, the small cavity back on the long irons are so forgiving while maintaining their feel. Any mis-hits and you will know, but catch them sweet and there isn't a better sound. I'm considering true apex 50 blades but I'll never get rid of these.

Similar Products Used: titleist dci, taylormade lt and os
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Dan Reuter   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 27, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Edge (Original)

I played a Hogan Apex blade for 15+ years, but when I got older I went to a perimeter weighted club for the forgiveness. I bought the original Hogan Edge in 1990 and they are still in my bag. Over the last 16 years I have tried a number of other clubs. Titleist was okay, Cleveland had little feel or accuracy, and I thought when I bought the Ping I3+ that I had found the replacement club. WRONG!! The Hogan Edges have the feel of blades, forgiveness of perimeter weighting, and the distance, consistency and accuracy you look for in an iron.

Similar Products Used: Titleist
Cleveland
Ping
Mizuno
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
David   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Origian Hogan Edge

Great club. Good feedback on mis-hits and really able to work the ball. Haven't found a ball that didn't hop-and-stop with 5-iron down. Impress your friends, hit the Edge

Similar Products Used: Callaway X-12, X-14, Big Bertha, Tommy Armour 845's, Ping Eye-2, Wilson Staff FS, Cleveland VAS
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
gummybearron   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 29, 2004]
Model Reviewed: ben hogan edge GCD tour forged

Recently my buddy go himself a set of Ben Hogan Apex II forged blades circa 1979 approx. He is playing great with them. Seeing that I looked around a found a set of Hogan GCD tour forged irons, stiff shaft, circa 1996. They are absolutely wonderful to play with. You can shape your shots. They are only slightly forgiving which makes you concentrate on every shot - which is a good thing. It is so nice to hear that "click" and see the ball go exactly where it's supposed to go. My scores have never been lower. If you can find a set of these irons grab them - they are a real quality product. I paid $175 Canadian for them and they play as good as any of the high end forged irons out there that sell for $1200 plus.

Customer Service

I phoned Ben Hogan company just to get some of the specs on the irons - I was mainly interested in the lofts. The representative was very helpful.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jhnyots   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Edge GCD w/#4 steel shafts

These are best clubs I have ever hit. I had them two seasons ago, traded them in for Ping I3 O-Size, and have come back to them. I will keep these for a long time to come. They are straighter, longer and easier to hit then the Pings.

Similar Products Used: Ping I3 O-Size, Ping Eye II, Wilson Staff.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 41 | Prev 10 | Next 10