Ben Hogan Radial Irons

Do you like this product?

4.9

OUT OF 5
37 GolfReview reviews

3.7

OUT OF 5
9 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

46 REVIEWS

4.3

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

Radial

Showing 1-10 of 37 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (37)

mltnr290   Shoots in the 70s [May 22, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Radials

I purchased a set of Hogan Radials in 1983. To this day I still haven't found another set of irons that feel as good on clean hits.(Wilson Fat Shafts come close). The bounce of the sole tends to eliminate those 1/4" fat shots and the extra mass behind the sweet spot really makes the ball pop off the face. The clubs are 30 years old and still look good, and I'm not the kind of guy that is real fussy with how I handle my clubs. The grooves have stood up to who knows how mant 1,ooos of hits and still are in good shape. Just a really good quality club.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
cokesh   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 23, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Radial

I'm somewhat of a club junkie. I like to try different clubs and see different progressions from different eras. I picked up my first set of these at a thrift store along with a set of Big Bertha 2004 irons (minus the 4 and 9 irons) for $2 per club. I took them out to the driving range. I don't see how people can hit better with the GI Big Bertha's and their offset. I could not get a decent connect with them most of the time.
However, the Ben Hogan Radials turned out to be a very nice club. I have hit the Hogan Edge Forged, and Apex FTX and liked them very much too. The FTX's I started liking better than the Edge which I initially liked a lot. Now with the Radial irons I feel like I've stepped up to a nicer iron for my game than the former two. With the Apex 4 shafts, they are a little stiff for me but manageable. I didn't really need to "dial" in my hitting of them as I had to with the Edge irons. The forged feel of these irons is very nice. My distance was not much shorter at all given, most likely, that the lofts are probably similar. I'm thinking the radial sole with the extra mass behind striking behind the ball makes them the wonderful clubs they are. Well struck hits are more buttery smooth than the Apex Edge's and FTX's.
They still won't replace my Maltby MMB's, but I can take them out with confidence and play as well as I can (or better than I could with big super game improvement clubs I just cannot hit). I wish I could drop the rating which I gave to the Hogan Edge review 1/2 to 1 star.
Take what you will from this. It's a great club for the price today and I think easier to hit for a forged iron than many other forged irons. And, in my case, easier to hit than many of today's new(ish), "You need these new xxxxx irons to play better" sets of clubs.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Maltby MMB's, Wilson Staff forged ('76-'77), Mizuno Pro MP-11, Wilson Gooseneck fg-53('91-'92), Wilson Dyna-Powered Staff(1960), MacGregor custom Nicklaus forged, Hogan Apex II, Hogan Apex FTX, Hogan Edge Forged,Big Bertha 2004, Cleveland Launcher, Cleveland CG Gold, Callaway X-20
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
WeekendGolfWarrior   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 29, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Radial (APEX 4)

What a terrific and beautiful set of irons! I have always been a PING man - Eye2's, I3's, and I10's, but wanted to try my hand with a forged iron. I did a little research (and it helps to have a healthy respect for Mr. Hogan and his products) and bought my Radials on ebay (1-E). I have played a couple of rounds with them after spending a little time with them on the range. What a treat! Since they are 'vintage' the lofts aren't quite what I am accustomed to in more modern clubs. I had the lofts checked and the gaps weren't consistent and weak by modern standards, so I had them bent to modern lofts and with consistent gaps. No problems with that process. I couldn't get past the number...I know, I know, but there it is. I am excited to test them with the adjusted lofts now when the rain finally stops here in Va...more later on that.

I love the weight of the clubs, although I do not know the exact swing weight. I can really feel the clubhead throughout the swing. Other reviews have it right, the irons feel great, the long irons are relatively easy to hit...I even found myself hitting 1 iron after 1 iron on the range with great results...it was just FUN.

The price on ebay was great...$250 for 1-E (10 clubs) and they are like brand new. Grips were too large so I changed them (to smaller half cords) and have, as I said, changed the lofts ($50), but what a deal!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jetdriver   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Radial irons

(original forged) Ben Hogan Radial 2-E
These are great clubs, my only regret is that they have some offset and going from non/minimal offset Hogan Apexes etc.. back and forth to these is not automatic. I have 3 sets of these one with the vector(4) shafts and 2 with Apex(3) shafts. The vectors are like butter but the heads are a little banged up, the first apex3 flex shaft set seemed slightly more harsh on contact. When I tried the other identical apex3 set it felt sweet as butter like the vectors...go figure. this was noticable both chipping and on full swings. I tend to think that there may be a variation in the forgings by batch. These are absolutely all top notch great sticks... man they are just simply fun clubs. When I get a chance to compare the shafts for trajectory on the range I will add a comment to this review as to what I find since I am curious myself.
These radials are not quite as buttery as the apexes but close. I think they make up for it if you like a high trajectory which these have in abundance.
Oh yes... I almost forgot, the E wedge is great!-the ball flight... it's a sight to see. and the long irons can be hit with confidence.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Hogan apexes etc...
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
troyster   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 25, 2010]
Model Reviewed: hogan radials

It's great to own a set of irons that Ben Hogan himself designed. I was using a set of very old Browing 440's when I switched to these, so the scare factor was not an issue at all. Mine have the Vector 3 shaft which worked great with my speed, but the slightly oversized grip end of the shaft made my .580 core victory grips feel like mid sized grips.I could really work the ball with these things; any shot possible. Golf companies don't make clubs like this anymore: A forged blade aimed at the mid handicapper by using a wider bounce sole.Another nice feature about these is the amount of loft the longer irons have which make them actually playable compared to the modern delofted irons they sell now. These were just fun, fun clubs to use.

Similar Products Used: iron I've used from this far back; ping eyes, cobra dyn's, browing 440s, some very old tourneys.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
knh555   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Radial

I've been playing these clubs on and off for 26 years. I got a set with shorter Vector 1 shafts as a 12 year-old as my first set of full clubs (3-E). I still have them and are saving them for my now seven year-old son. In high school, I got a newer, also used set, in men's lengths with Apex 3 shafts (2-E) and Hogan Special K wedges (56 and 62). I love the whole set and see no reason to replace the long irons with hybrids.

I've also played Ping Eye 2 and ISI but later realized that growing up playing small, muscleback irons was most fortunate. It taught me to groove a swing and put the sweetspot on the ball. There's no reason for anyone with a reasonably grooved swing can't play clubs like these.

I found playing the over-sized Pings made me lazy with that big sweet spot and I often didn't quite hit it right. I suspect a combination of the optics and club head size are at work here.

I find I can hit fades, draws, knockdowns...whatever you want to hit, no problem. The set up is easy to square up and these are among the longest clubs I've hit despite the weaker lofts. If anything, I prefer these lofts and love the 50* E wedge. No need for a gap wedge with this set and nice spacing between the clubs. Driver, 3 wood, 2-E, S, and L with the putter make a great set.

I still play the Radials regularly, but have switched to a set of Apex blades for most of my play. They're both great, great clubs though and will probably refinish my Radials soon and get another 20 years out of them.

Similar Products Used: Ping ISI, Hogan Apex, 1960's blades, Ping Eye2
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
LoserFat   Shoots in the 100s [Oct 24, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Radial Irons

I bought these 1980's Hogan Radial Irons off of ebay. I love them! My iron play has improved tremendously. Now if I could only chip and put better!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Dustin   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 31, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Radials

I've always thought to find the best irons is to find the best iron player. In my opinion you can't find a better iron player than Ben Hogan. I have played since I was 12 years old but got out of the game for a few years due to arm problems. I bought these on Ebay this past summer, they're a nice set of clubs for the money. The Apex 4 shaft is a bit too stiff for me, so I traded them in for Apex Channel Backs with 3 flex. The radial head is amazing, really sets up perfectly everytime, especially the long irons. You don't tend to close or open it at adress, if you do you'll notice with it's larger muscle back design. A great set of clubs, it's hard to beat Ben Hogan products.

Customer Service

Never had to use them.

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armor 845u Silverbacks, Ben Hogan Apex Pc.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
freeunit   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 05, 2007]
Model Reviewed: hogan Radials

My dad bought these clubs back in 1989 from a local club. I was just one year old and i have to say i never thought i would be playing with irons as old i me. He did not use them much and i stated to play with them and they are just so pure ( like butter). They look so good when you are standing over the club looking down on it. They just dont make anything like the muscle backs anymore. I dont think i will ever get ride of these irons. In fact im trying to find someone that can refurbish them for me. But all in all if you are looking for some new irons. i would for sure take a look at these. Remember they are some what hard to hit at first but once you figure them out they are your new best friend

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
mg celina   Shoots in the 100s [Jul 31, 2005]
Model Reviewed: 83 - 86 Hogan Radial Irons

I bought mine at a resale store for $1.00 apiece and feel like a bandit. I didn't like them at first because they were about 1 full club shorter than all my other irons, which were cavity back irons. I then lengthened the shafts 1 1/8 inch and regripped them with Winn midsize grips and now they are my favorite clubs replacing my spaldings and dunlops. Other golfers I play with think they're difficult to hit because they're old, but after they try them they eat their words. If you get the chance to buy some, do it, but don't forget they were made a long time ago and may need to reworking to make them perform to todays standards. I have 2 through E(PW) and may replace them one day but a new set of Hogans is about $700 dollars, so it may be awhile.

Customer Service

N/A

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 37 | Prev 10 | Next 10