Callaway X-12 Irons

Do you like this product?

4.6

OUT OF 5
121 GolfReview reviews

3.7

OUT OF 5
88 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

209 REVIEWS

4.2

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

X-12

The 1998 Big Bertha Irons feature all of the game-enhancing characteristics of the Great Big Bertha Titanium irons in a stainless steel head. The sweet-spot of the club has been increased over the standard Big Bertha iron. The weight has been re-distributed around the club and the center-of-gravity has been lowered to create a more heel-and-toe balanced iron. The top line has also been thinned to make this the most playable club Callaway has ever created. (Price for 3-PW Steel Shaft)

Showing 41-50 of 121 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (121)

robbo7822   Shoots in the 70s [May 24, 2002]
Model Reviewed: X12 Pro Series

Changed from Mizuno T Zoid to these clubs, what a difference, the T Zoid were not a bad club just didn't suit me. Excellent clubs very forgiving which is good and hit the ball 10-15yards further than the Mizunos which is good for the ego but more importantly helps you take an easier swing at the ball. Must admit to being a bit of a Callaway convert but I can't fault their products (except the C4) Great irons, if you can afford them buy them if not beg steal or borrow the dosh.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
AJ   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 23, 2002]
Model Reviewed: X-12 Pro Series

The long irons are the easiest to hit in the world. The middle irons are very responsive, long, and predictable. The short irons display excellent control, both left and right, and in distance control. I have mine shafted with Rifle 6.0 steel, and these shafts provide me with the ideal weight and trajectory. I routinely hit the 2 iron 255 off the tee, the 5 iron 205, and the 8 iron 170. These are so easy to produce distance with, that a hard swing is unnecessary.

Customer Service

OUTSTANDING! Callaway reshafted from Memphis 10 to Rifle 6.0 shafts for cost, and they paid shipping.

Similar Products Used: Callaway S2H2 semi blades.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
AJ   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 23, 2002]
Model Reviewed: X-12 Pro Series

The long irons are the easiest to hit in the world. The middle irons are very responsive, long, and predictable. The short irons display excellent control, both left and right, and in distance control. I have mine shafted with Rifle 6.0 steel, and these shafts provide me with the ideal weight and trajectory. I routinely hit the 2 iron 255 off the tee, the 5 iron 205, and the 8 iron 170. These are so easy to produce distance with, that a hard swing is unnecessary.

Customer Service

OUTSTANDING! Callaway reshafted from Memphis 10 to Rifle 6.0 shafts for cost, and they paid shipping.

Similar Products Used: Callaway S2H2 semi blades.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
pau torres   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 02, 2001]
Model Reviewed: callaway x-12, graphite

are the best irons, because are very forgiveness... Son los mejores hierros que he jugado en mi vida, apenas tocarlos bajé 10 handicaps

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jonny Ross   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 26, 2001]
Model Reviewed: callaway x-12 irons (steel shaft)

absolutely amazing club. i tried mizunos, taylor mades and other irons but these were way better. i used to shoot scores well over par, but when tried these clubs they seemed to straighten and lengthen my shots. i never had a real slice but even so the ofset works really well. as i have improved greatly in the past 2 years so has my appreciation of these irons. these are probably the best irons you could ever wish to have. buy them second hand for a few hundred instead of new i3''s for a few thousand

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used: taylor made and mizuno irons
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Tim the Golfer   Shoot in the 70s [Feb 06, 2001]
Model Reviewed: x-12 pro series; price per club

uuuuaaaahhh! I hate these clubs! How could anybody play with such ugly clubs?? These fat clubhead-body, I nearly have to vomit when setting up the ball.
Performance: Well, everytime I tried to hit them well, I hit it fat or thin, hosel or toe: maybe the wrong shaft, but the others hit it straight and straight and straight, even when they try to shape their shots....

All in all I´ve tried it for 100 shots till now and there was only 1 perfect stroke: The feeling at impact wasn´t that good, I prefer my Mizuno T-Zoid PRO-II. They give me an answer on a bad shot! (ouch, my fingers!).

Similar Products Used: cannot compare these "spoons" to any other clubs.... perhaps Ping Zing 2??
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
2
Steve Schick   Shoot in the 70s [Nov 06, 2000]
Model Reviewed: X-12 proseries

Munchy. Love it. Shape them like you want. Digs balls out of anywhere and sits them down on the green. Hot at impact. Throwing lasers all over the course. Birdie. Birdie. Birdie. Par. Birdie. Get in the zone and figure out if they are any better than what you already are playing. Stay quiet and they will let you know. Rusty Trombone, change the grips and remove the stickers. They clack in the bag weird when you walk. Chunky at address. Like throwin' darts. Plate job and de-weight the pitching wedge.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Mike Lee   Shoot in the 100s [Feb 10, 2000]

I've used Callaway X-12 irons for almost a year and I've just been playing for 2 years. I feel that the big cavity of the irons helps me a lot in giving more solid contact with the ball. Unbelievable, I can hit longer by almost 10 yards more with mid to short X-12 irons. Overall, these irons are quite suited for the player who needs a forgiving and solid touch while considering accuracy as less priority.

Similar Products Used: Lynx, Honma
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
brent   Shoot in the 100s [Jan 17, 2000]
Model Reviewed: x-12 steel stiff +1.5"

Absolutely the easiest hitting thing I've tried. A little porky looking at setup, but great contact and power every time. Straight, long and very high. Compared side by side to I-3s, and liked both for different reasons:X-12 felt guttier, but a little too automatic. I also tried these weighted to a D-5 for big boys: tracking the head was very intuitive, and they hit like a freight train. I think they feel a little clunky around the greens, but the heft is very reassuring once you get used to it.
Now that my swing has revived, I think I'll go with 981s, but if you're perpetually rusty, or just swing slow and easy, these are loads of fun.
Swing easy.....hammer the snot out of the ball.

Similar Products Used: DCI 981 & 990, ISI-S, I-3, Revolution, LCG
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Matthew Lee   Scratch golfer [Jan 31, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Calloway X-12

If you are an advanced player with a natural draw, these clubs are NOT for you. They consistently shape my draw into a drastic hook. I would recomend the Taylor Made Super Steels (much more consistent, great shot shaping, and much more spin).

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made LCG and Titleist DCI
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
2
Showing 41-50 of 121 | Prev 10 | Next 10