Callaway X-14 Irons

Do you like this product?

4.5

OUT OF 5
243 GolfReview reviews

3.5

OUT OF 5
134 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

377 REVIEWS

4

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

X-14

Price for steel shafts; $899 for graphite.

Showing 191-200 of 243 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (243)

Doug   Shoot in the 80s [Jun 26, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-14

Good irons until now. I got these while shooting in the 100's now that my game is getting better i will be moving to a mizuno. I dont think anything hits the ball higher or straighter than these clubs. For a high handicapper these are perfect. They let you learn to swing while not killing you for hitting a bad shot. Not too forgiving if you hit it fat or on the heel. If you hit one thin the ball flies straight and high. I purposelly hit one where only half the ball made contact with the club and still got 133 yards with a nine iron. Toe shots are equally as forgiving. If you want to learn to play golf you should look no further. If you shoot in the 80's why bother buying anything else than mizuno

Similar Products Used: Mizuno ProII X-12 Ping I-3
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
arnold palmer   Scratch golfer [Feb 21, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-14

Callaway X-14s are the best clubs out there right know. They give you trajectory, distance, feel, and exceptional spin. These clubs are one of the best Callaway inventions.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jeff Chalmers   Shoot in the 70s [Oct 25, 2000]
Model Reviewed: X-14

Previous post was a bit political wasn't it? I happen to think if somebody wants to play with an ERC let them. Just don't use it in an event governed by rules that forbid it. You still have to swing the ERC the right way. It doesn't just put the ball 270 out in the middle of the fairway.

Whatever.

About the X-14's.
Nice irons. I have been playing them for 6 months. I was playing a set of Macgregors like ollie won the masters with. I don't have to practice everyday to hit the X-14's well. And maybe that's what the ERC is about too.

If somebody could make a club that speeds up the play of the players ahead of me I would be happy. Unfortunately the majority of people who get the ERC will just be looking for their ball ten yards further up and in than before.

You can fix swing faults with equipment.

And if you have a good swing then play with whatever you want.

God love the USA.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Dusty   Shoot in the 90s [Oct 25, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-14's

Got a good deal on them demoed but the $699 is kinda high, however, these are super hitting irons. They are very forgiving and hit for days! I have never been able to hit long irons but I was consistantly hitting the 3 iron 220 yards! Unfortunatley, I am going to sell EVERY callaway club that I have!! Callaway needs to stick to the "Rules of Golf" and discontinue the ERC Driver. Quite worrying about your pocket book MR. Callaway, and remember that Golf is a game of Sportmanship and Pride, as well as just an enjoyable game. I hope others will do the same with protesting Callaway clubs if you also disagree with Mr. Callaway.

Customer Service

NO MORE CALLAWAY FOR ME!!!!

Similar Products Used: LCG's, Titleist 962's and Oversized.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Not Jage   Shoot in the 70s [Oct 20, 2000]
Model Reviewed: X-14

mmmmmmm. Only for beginners like Carlos Franco and Colin Montgomerie and Annika Sorenstam and Jesper Parnevik. The list is growing.

These clubs treat you right. Put a good swing on them and you will get just the result you want. How can you complain about that? Callaway makes good equipment. You really can't go wrong with these irons. Go to your golfstore and take out the 5-iron and demo it for yourself. That's the best thing you can do with any clubs you are interested in.

I have played them for three months and I love them. I have shot my lowest rounds ever. 75, 77, 77, 76, and 75. The main thing I am enjoying is that even on bad days when my swing is a little off I don't get punished by these irons.

Enjoy golf. Enjoy these irons.

Customer Service

If anything goes wrong call Callaway and they will replace it.

Similar Products Used: Titleist 990's Cleveland TA 3 FF, Maxfli Revolution, Hogan Apex plus, Mizuno Pro II
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
grinder   Shoot in the 80s [May 19, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-14, graphite shaft, regular flex

Great set of irons. As advertised, the long irons really help you get the ball airborne. Distance seems a little longer on the 7-9 than my ISI-Ks. Touch and feel on short irons not as good as on my Pings. Again Callaway has produced a very forgiving club which is what most double digit handicappers need/want.

Similar Products Used: Ping ISI-K with graphite (U-43) shafts
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Dave   Shoot in the 80s [May 18, 2000]
Model Reviewed: X-14 irons

Recently demo'ed these. Very long and very forgiving. Almost felt like I couldn't hit a bad shot with them. Can't say much for feel, had a hard time telling where I was hitting the ball on the club face. Excellent game-improvement iron, but price is a little steep.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
Daryl   Shoot in the 80s [May 08, 2000]
Model Reviewed: X-14 Irons

I was custom fitted through Callaway in Carlsbad California last year for X-12 irons. They fitted me an inch over, strong graphite shafts and 2 degrees upright. I struggled with them for the past year. Traded them in for shelf bought firm graphite X-12 irons and had them extended myself. After playing with them for two weeks, I have to wonder why I waited so long to do it. They are very forgiving and very solid. you can feel the club hitting the ball which with the X-12 and strong shafts was difficult. I am very pleased with them. Best I have hit in a long time.

Customer Service

Very friendly. Have had my woods extended at the factory. They have a very impressive fitting operation.

Similar Products Used: Titliest 960's, X-12's and Ping Eye 2's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Keith Williams   Shoot in the 80s [Apr 28, 2000]
Model Reviewed: X-14

Great Irons, Very forgiving and also have a good feel to them. Not as thick as traditional Callaway's which is nice for a change.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno Comp-EZ, TM Supersteel
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
John Livingston   Shoot in the 70s [Apr 26, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-14

It is DEFINITELY NOT WORTH THE MONEY. Head is too bulky making address, ballance, and swing very awkward. Not much feel...you can't really tell what happenned until you actually look at the ball. Definitely not for low-handicappers, and probably should not be used if you plan to or want to improve your game.

Similar Products Used: Lynx, Mizuno T-Zoid, Callaway X-12, Taylot Made Firesole(which is great in my opinion)
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
1
Showing 191-200 of 243 | Prev 10 | Next 10