Cleveland TA2 Irons

Do you like this product?

4.8

OUT OF 5
49 GolfReview reviews

4.2

OUT OF 5
27 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

76 REVIEWS

4.5

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

TA2

Showing 1-10 of 49 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (49)

J. Parks Hammond   Shoots in the 80s [May 28, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2

During a complete reworking of my swing and game, I bought these used (7.5 of 10 rating) Cleveland TA2 3-PW, Dynamic Gold S400 flex, Cleveland Cord Grips on an Ebay auction for $87 including shipping. I expected difficulty in swing and impact feel, distance lost in the S400 flex and sore hands from the cord grips. My expectations and the expert “golf equipment salesmen” were absolutely wrong. These may very well be my version of Leo Kottke’s “Student Prince.”

Golf is fun again! I’ve played for 52 years. I switched to game improvement heads and regular to senior shaft flexes in my late 50’s. My handicap devolved from single to two digit. Distance stayed the same and accuracy became erratic.

With the Cleveland TA2 set, my accuracy immediately came back; but, the feel was something I had forgotten was possible. Bad miss hits, fly ugly and you feel the vibrations, but slight miss hits fly nearly as far and stay on target.

I can easily work the ball left to right and control it low and high. With focus, I can work it right to left with some control and still control flight height. Most important, from 3-PW, when I focus, these fly online to the target. When I focus and make good flush contact (about 80-90% of the time, so far), I have gained half a club in length and the impact feels like soft butter.

The normal flight trajectory may be slightly lower. I haven’t played enough holes to rate the backspin, but so far they are stopping near where the ball hits with a slight release forward. That is what I prefer and try to achieve. Chipping and pitching performance with all clubs is solid and accurate with no distance control problems.

I highly recommend these clubs to the experienced (decades of play) mid to low handicap players who continue to work to improve and keep their game.

I wish Cleveland was still making them, but they are available on Ebay. I’d wish you luck on your auction, but you may be bidding against me as I buy a back-up set.

Similar Products Used: MacGregor 1025C with Regular flex Steel shafts
MacGregor 1025C with Senior flex Graphite shafts
Golfsmith custom-made SquareToe Blades Dynamic Gold Stiff flex
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Samu   Shoots in the 80s [May 06, 2012]
Model Reviewed: TA2 ironset

I've started out with Mizuno TZOID irons, but 9 years ago I bought these TA2 with TT s300 shaft. The feel hitting these clubs provided a lot of good feed back and felt very buttery. I was longer, but I believe it was the shaft matched with my swing speed (92 MPH 6 iron).

I switched to a set of Callaway x forged 2007 ironset after an accident for a lighter and softer shaft (sl light r300). Now that I have my swing and strength back, I have found even more feel and control with the set. I find I can hit the 4 iron very reliably now 192 yards, and work the direction without much effort. My pw goes about 124 yards but the loft is 46 degrees.

I have to say much of the feel is the heavier s300 shaft and the heavier heads. I played a friends Taylormade Rac CB TP forged but it felt too light or less solid. I believe my grip pressure and my slow loading of the irons gives me the best feel with this setup. The irons feel like your able to strike with the force of a MB iron but with forgiveness on off centre hits. Hit it a little thin and you hands will tell you right away. The 8625 carbon steel is pretty good relative to 1025 carbon steel.

The is the standard now when I look for a set as the pw is worn. Anyone with a fresh set out there :)

Customer Service

na

Similar Products Used: Tzoid, Rac CB TP, x Forged 2007 extensively (good clubs btw)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Out the Screws   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 18, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2 Irons

These are wonderful irons, tremendous feel, not very forgiving, but look SOOO good...
I bought these cheap on eBay as training irons, the range balls murder your grooves. Because these are harder to hit, my ball sticking has improved massively with my playing clubs on the course. But the short irons are so good they might sneak into my bag..
If your a range monster and want to improve your iron play, grab a set of these babies.

Customer Service

A bit rubbish really... Sent emails but no reply

Similar Products Used: TM Burner Plus, Ping Zing, Cobra Greg Norman Tour Blades.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
MosDogg   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 06, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2 irons.

I have been golfing for about 14 years now and i have to admit I have played with just about every set of irons there is.
back in the early days my first set of irons were made by PowerBilt and the model was levellume (small heads by todays standards) and they were the blade/MS design, very hard irons to hit for a beginner.
i've played these irons for the first 4 years of my career, to this day i have never found anything that matches the irons i fell in love with years ago till now.
the cleveland TA 2's are what i've been looking for all this time and as i've have stated i've tried them all.
a friend of mine had this set of irons and asked me to try them, well long story short i now own them.
i have replaced the shafts with tru-temper dynamic gold (steel), the club builder was somewhat supprized he didn't know why i spent so much on an old set of irons.
well all i had to do was show him my handicap index after about 3 weeks using these irons, broke 70 three times in as many weeks not bad.
these irons are very accurate, the control of a blade is outstanding, the irons have the stability of a cavity back not to hard or soft all built into one iron, the distance is outragious i'm 12 yards longer than my old set of irons (taylormade supersteel).
working the ball is alittle harder than i expected the ball wants to go straight if it does draw/fade its only 3 or 4 feet from center not much.
the cleveland company has won this golfers heart and soul, i think that i may try some of the other irons but for now TA 2's got me.
anyone know where i can get a newer set of TA 2's?.
well people, old farts like me need alittle help distance wise, these irons will do just that for you so, get out there and demo a set i think you'll be just as happy.

Customer Service

none,

Similar Products Used: everything from clone to ping and in between.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
bumkin11   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 19, 2009]

I just bought a set of cleveland Ta2 irons and I haven't played these clubs on the course yet but I have hit a couple of buckets and they are very pure, I had a set of ben hogan cavity backs and I hit them so high now with these I have a nice low piercing ball flight. I got them from the roger dunn in santa ana for 99 dollars after my trade in.

Customer Service

If anyone lives in southern california and needs golf equipment roger dunn in santa ana is the place to go they have everything I'm left handed and they have a decent selection but right handed is unlimited with great prices on used clubs and are willing to work with you on the price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
scrtch@gE15   Scratch Golfer [Sep 10, 2009]

i got these clubs after trying them from my friends bag. i needed something workable but forgiving. these clubs fit perfectly to my style of play. i shoot in the mid 60's to low 70's as a teenager, so these clubs hit the jackpot. i dont plan on buying another set, ever!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
porsche968   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 16, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA-2 Forged S-300 TT

Decided to turn in my Mizuno blades for something a little more forgiving. Found these used at a proshop and demo'd them. I tend to hit the ball high on the face and lose 1 club of distance consistantly. These are very forgiving, heavy irons. Mis-hits are a thing of the past now. They produce a high rate of spin. Now every iron shot feels solid instead of 5 or 6 decent iron shots a game. The only drawback is that they are not as workable as my blades. Draws and fades are 5 - 10 yards instead of 10 - 15 yards. The club 'smooths' out imperfect swings. Thin top line and classic old school framing of the ball at address. These are now in my bag to stay.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used: All Mizuno forged clubs
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
michaeljseo   Shoots in the 80s [May 15, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2

Very nice. I'm able to control the ball flight better than any club I've hit, and they feel great. I've hit the Mizuno MP52's as demos because I really wanted them, and the TA2's feel just as good. So I'm sticking with them. To boot, I got them for $125 at GolfSmith with brand new grips.

Similar Products Used: Hogan ApexII, Ping Eye2, Titleist 704
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sgdluu   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2 iron S300

I've looked around for new clubs, especially with my 'new' swing after my surgeries. I'm not hitting them as far, but I'm not finding new distance with any new clubs. As for feel, I still like the TA2. I don't know why, I like the weight, even though most clubs are D2. I've recently tried the TM R7 TP, but found them too light, not enough feel. I'm hitting my 7 iron around 160 now vs 165 before. I've decide to keep them and perhaps find another pair with a different shaft. It still feels good on contact

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Mizuno T-Zoids, Callaway X-18 (yuk), TM R7 TP, and Titleist AP2 (ok).
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
samarati   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 19, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA-2 irons

I've owned the Clevelnad Tour Action 2 irons for one season. I've played 20 rounds with them. My 3 - PW set has G.A.T. regular flex shafts. By the way, I'm a lefty. I bought these clubs after growing frustrated with my 15 year old Ping Eye 2 irons with steel shafts. I do hit the Tour action irons farther than the Pings. I do think that the Tour Action clubs are more forgiving than the Pings when I mis-hit. I think that I can NOT carve out a shot as well with the Tour Action. The Tour Action shots seem to be more generic no matter how I change swing technique. These Cleveland clubs & lots of range practice have lowered my handicap by 3 strokes.

Customer Service

Bought this set on e-bay. Brand new. $200. Yes I stole them! What customer service?

Similar Products Used: Ping Eye 2 Black - Sold them after purchasing the Clevelands. I also own a 2nd lightweight golf set - Dunlop Pro Comp. I carry these on my back when I play shorter courses.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 49 | Prev 10 | Next 10