Cleveland TA2 Irons

Do you like this product?

4.8

OUT OF 5
49 GolfReview reviews

4.2

OUT OF 5
27 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

76 REVIEWS

4.5

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

TA2

Showing 41-49 of 49 | Prev 10

User Reviews (49)

shahsuffian   Shoots in the 80s [May 29, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2 Irons

I just bought the TA2 irons about a month ago, after deciding that I wanted to shape my shots more. The previous irons I had were also Clevelands (TA5 Gunmetals), so I figured the TA2s would be better. Honestly, I think I'm still getting used to the heavier clubs (Dynamic Gold steel shafts) and the less forgiving club head needs some egtting used to. However, by and large the clubs have a really good feel to it, and with a little more practice, I should be able to have the clubs swinging the way I want them to.

Customer Service

The local distributors had only limited sets available, which is why I had to opt for the Dynamic Gold instead of the Sensicore shafts

Similar Products Used: Cleveland TA5s, Ben Hogan Radials
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
5
golf72   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 15, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2

As you can tell from the perfect rating on these clubs, they're a great set. And not only are they a great set for golfers who like to shape their shot, but they're great for all golfers. They have minimal offset, but that doesn't mean that a 20 handicap can't hit these clubs. They're extremely soft, but yeild tremendous feel and touch. The trajectory control is unlike any other iron set I've tried. I play in college on a course that requires every iron shot to be precise in every aspect. These irons have allowed me to go at the ball and not have to worry about if I'll be able to shape it around this tree, or if I'll be able to keep it below this branch. They're all around great. The setup is nice if you like the small club head feel. Even though the club head is small, it doesn't feel like you're swinging a paper club head. They aren't super heavy, but heavy enough to get some feel. Most of you probably want to know about the distance. I used to play Ping I-3+ Blades and those I thought were long. I went to a range and hit the 6 iron of Cleveland TA2's. I normally hit 6 iron from about 185-190 and hit this 6 iron 210. Now that's by far not my average with these clubs, but I'm averaging around 195-200 on good swings with my 6 iron.

Customer Service

Didn't need it.

Similar Products Used: None comparable.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
oversize   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 11, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2

This is a follow up to my previous review, perhaps I was too enthusiastic in that review. I had moved from large offset / medium size head clubs to these near blade configured clubs. I play at least 2 rounds a week and found recently that my worst part of the game was irons. I considered briefly to trade in for TA7's or Pings / more forgiving clubs, but decided to press on and follow my original decision that these TA2's would force me to find my swing instead of forgiving errors. Well, if you play enough and just keep wacking at it you will find these clubs to be real nice. I have moved from trying to have a model stroke to just doing what works, these clubs definitely please me now. Really, though, I have seen many near scratch players playing with all kinds of high offset clubs - those probably would have worked for me as well. This review is for 90's players - if you play once a month / year, don't get these - however if you play at least twice a week, these will work for you. You have to make adjustments and hit them a lot, I can say that I am finally hitting as good as my original high offset beginner clubs. Now I am looking foward to getting to where I can make the ball do stuff other than just straight.

Customer Service

Good

Similar Products Used: High offset beginner irons
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
oversize   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2 Irons

Okay, I shoot in the 90's (on a good day). So, I am supposed to pick "game improvement" clubs like the TA6's - right? I hit the TA6's at the store - wow, they are like butter (wish I had both). But, the TA2's are also butter - when hit it sweet. I love the near blade look, my goal is blades eventually - I don't care if I am still in the 90's, I just love the way blades play when your in the zone (I will take the good with the bad). Anyway, I got really lucky with the price - these were used at $540, but looked like brand new. Then an additional 15% red tag, then another 10% for Golfsmith coupon. A couple of things to think about - 1) these clubs are very light (that was a change), 2) they are very soft - hit sandy balls and left the irons in trunk overnight and there are little rusty nicks at grooves already). I suggest cleaning and drying immediately after every game, and clean and drop balls when dirty (I know the rules, just pretend winter all year around).

Customer Service

Golfsmith staff is awesome.

Similar Products Used: Golfsmith beginner SS XP Irons (indestructable, wife gets them).
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ktgarcia   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2

These clubs are fantastic. I tried lots of clubs at the shops and these worked the best for me. I found that I could hit the TA7 Tour and the Ping I3+ great as well but could not shape the ball flight with those clubs. I have been looking for a club that could take me to the next level of my game and I finally found them. I know that I'm a 17 handicap but my downfall is really around the greens with poor chipping and putting. With these clubs I'll be able to hit more greens and hopefully keep it to a two putt or better. I really wanted to get the TM rac LT but just could not hit them. They had no feedback and the feel was poor. Not so with the Cleveland's. These clubs feel fantastic and give the kind of feedback I need to really improve. I found these clubs to be a typical distance for me. I didn't really gain any yardage but I didn't lose any either. My swing speed is 94 MPH with a 6 iron. The lofts are a little weak for my taste and I may have them bent slightly stronger. Other than that I wouldn't change a thing about these clubs. The feel great and look even better. The thin top line really sold me on these as well. The TA7 Tour just had too much offset and was to chunky. Give these a try, you won't be dissapointed.

Customer Service

Clubs were special ordered and arrived in 7 days. Fantastic. Will stick with Cleveland for a long time.

Similar Products Used: Ping I3+(Loved), Mizuno MP-30(solid club) TM rac LT(hated), Callaway X-16 Pro(hated even more) Cleveland TA-7 Tour(Very Good)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
rockie   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 20, 2004]
Model Reviewed: CLEVELAND TA2

Great sticks.. I played with them for 3 months and was one of the best i've ever had, I tried the TM RAC MB AND LT, for a month. geshhhh i lost 15yards per stick with the TM. Now these babies are back in my bag. Im stickin with the TA2'S since they are one of the best out there for the price(my opinion of course). Taylormade makes very good drivers but these irons are the best

Similar Products Used: TM RAC MB, TM RAC LT, CLEVELAND TA3 GUNMETAL, TM 360.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
wrx123   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 13, 2004]
Model Reviewed: TA-2 Cleveland Irons

Took a LH demo 6 iron out after work 8/28/03. Liked the size and minimal offset (still had shrink wrap on head). On the third hole, par three 178 yds., I had a chance to swing the club...it went in the hole. It went in the **#@!# hole. I bought the set. My 5 iron ss is 81 mph and I love these clubs. Easy to align, better than forged feel, and long (46 degree PW). I have only one gripe, Cleveland drilled the heads parallel instead of tapered. These heads scream for constant weight shafts!!! Suggest rifle, rifle "x", or tip your DG taper tips 1/4" and install. The lower balance point on constant weight shafts are much more consistant performers.

Customer Service

Very Good.

Similar Products Used: Maxfli Revolution Blk., MacGregor Muirfield, and Hogan Apex.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Tom Williams   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 09, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2's DGS-300

excellent is all I can say about these irons. I have added 10-14 yards per club over the titleist 762's. Ball flight is dead on. Feel is wonderful when hit in the sweet SPOT!!! Try them you will not go wrong plus Cleveland irons hold their trade value very well.....

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: everything!!!!!!!!!!! too much to list
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
play18   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 06, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA2; Dynalite Gold Steel Shafts

These are outstanding irons. TA3's with a higher toe and slightly larger sweet spot, but not so large that you feel like you're swinging the Queen Mary. If you like a smaller profile head and want to maneuver the ball, these are the best I've played since I put up my Titleist 962's. They are not for the faint of heart, but if you want to be able to move the ball some, without the shot getting away from you, and are looking for the ability to control distance and trajectory, these are the clubs. Also, if offset drives you nuts, the offset on these is minimal. They will make you a better player.

Customer Service

Excellent.

Similar Products Used: Titleist 962's and 762's (762 sole is a little wide, and the feeling is dull); Mizuno MP 30's; Callaway X14 Pro Series (too big); Hogan Edge (inconsistent performance - undoubtedly my fault); Ping I3 Blades and Cleveland TA7 tour (too much offset)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 41-49 of 49 | Prev 10