Cleveland TA5 Irons

Do you like this product?

4.7

OUT OF 5
209 GolfReview reviews

4.1

OUT OF 5
60 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

269 REVIEWS

4.4

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

TA5

Showing 31-40 of 209 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (209)

gmwolters   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 30, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA5

These irons are wonderful, it is the first time I can hit my 3 iron long, high and straight. Beware of the PW which has a loft of 45 degr Get yourself a DW as well. These are much better than my other irons (Hogan Apex Edge). You can still get them at a good price. Be quick!

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Ben Hogan Apex Edge
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Volfan   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 26, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA5 Irons

Great irons. Easy to hit, accurate and great feel. I hit everything before I bought these and for me, they are the best. I am now looking for a good deal on a Cleveland gap wedge and sand wedge. I can't believe Cleveland is not going to make these anymore. I bet they are back out within a year.

Customer Service

No experience

Similar Products Used: Pings (Karsten 2, ISI and Zings), Callaway X12, Hogan Apex and Apex plus, Tommy Armour 855 (and that is just the clubs I have owned....)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Tee'd Off   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 01, 2004]
Model Reviewed: TA5 3-PW steel shaft

These are some sweet and very reasonably priced irons. The feel is great and they are very forgiving. I will agree with previous reviews that the PW in this brand is really a 9-iron. So make the investment for a gap wedge since there is as much a 20-yard deficiency between your PW and your Sand wedge. The grips are hard and they can really tear up your hands when you are really working hard on your game on the range. The long irons in this set are some of the most forgiving I have ever come across. I can bang my 3-iron razor straight with an average distance ranging between 210-220 yards. If your new to the game or are tired of the real pricey models of irons give these a go they hold their own with the very best on the market!

Customer Service

I have never had to use it!

Similar Products Used: Wilson Fat shaft, Taylor Made Burners
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
doski19   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 26, 2004]
Model Reviewed: TA-5

These are some great clubs, extremely easy to hit and gives you confidence at address. I agree with most reviewers that you will need to purchase their DW (gap wedge) to fill the loft gap of your PW and SW. I also changed out the grips to Winn Excel's. These clubs will be in my bag for a long time (until the TA-6s come out :0)

Customer Service

Have not had to use them.

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armour, Nickent Genex (very nice clubs too),
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Justin   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 21, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA-5

The cleveland TA-5's are great for everybody whether you are a begginer or have a lot of experience. They are forgiving, but not too much. They are very easy to hit and will definetely lower your scores. The best thing about them is the price. I've hit ping irons and titliest, and cleveland is right up there with them when it comes to quality. I would reccomend these clubs for those who want to save money and still have great irons.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
TwoUnderPar   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: TA5

I've now played these clubs for 3 years. They are very forgiving and I would recommend them to anyone wanting a club that will help achieve the lowest scores possible. With that said, I only have 1 fault...the PW is 45* which is too little loft. A lot of irons have a 47* or 48* PW and the 9iron and 8iron are lofted with a 3* or 4* spread from there. You absolutely must have a gap wedge (or two) if you play these irons. They do hit great. The TA5 long irons are the easiest long irons I've ever played. I used a friends Ping G2's this fall and am considering a switch due to the better loft configuration. All in all, the TA5's are a very, very good club for someone that wants to get the most out of their swing. I've shot below par once and even par a couple of times and these clubs helped me do it.

Customer Service

Bought them off the shelf so service doesn't really apply.

Similar Products Used: No legitimate comparisons other than using my buddy's Ping G2's just recently.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Matt Thursfield   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 23, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA5 Gunmetal

Bought these as first set, based on reviews read here. The clubs feel great to hit with and are helping me to become a very consistent striker of the ball. The only disadvantage I do find with these clubs is the lack of playability which in time I know I will want in the future. These clubs are great to get you from a 28, down to a mid-teen handicap. I have had to change to Ping Orange grips which I would recommend to anyone with larger hands. Agree with many reviewers on the need for a gap wedge (eg 49/51 degrees) to play those short approaches to the green. Overall a great buy, which I would recommend to anyone on the lookout for a set of clubs with great feel, forgiveness, and a price to match.

Customer Service

Not Used

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
rzemborain   Shoots in the 100s [Nov 17, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA5

Incredible clubs, great soft feel and long and straight shots. I've noticed a tendency to draw when hitting the long irons. The PW is 45, too long (about 120 yards for me) so you'll probably need another PW or a GW. I bought a Cleveland 588 49 PW that fits prefectly with my Cleveland 588 54 SW. Some reviews complain about the grips but they work fine for me. They're helping me to lower my scores. I've had them for about a month and they're saving me 5 to 10 strokes per round. They're worth what I paid and even more. Try them and buy them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Bill Anderson   Shoots in the 100s [Nov 11, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA5 irons 3-PW plus 2 wedges

After several years with a failing heart, I finally got a heart transplant and am now back to playing Golf. I had a set of Big Bertha clones and hit them pretty well. But being left handed, not a lot of choices are available in stock clubs. So when the Cleveland Tour Van came to town I decided to get some custom made irons. I fell in love with the Cleveland TA5 irons and with the senior flex graphite shafts I seem to hit more solidly and can fly the ball down the middle of the fairway better than with any other club I have ever owned.I also got a couple of wedges along with the 3-PW and all made to my measurements. At least now I can't blame by equipment!

Customer Service

Not needed as of yet.

Similar Products Used: Old Wilson Staff FG-17 irons, Big Bertha Clones
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
  Shoots in the 80s [Nov 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA5 Irons

Finally accepted the fact that with a 10 and 8 year old, I would not be getting to the course as much as I would like. Moved the time-tested Tommy Armour 845s to the closet and visited the Cleveland Tour Van. Fitted for TA7 and TA5 at 2 degrees up and 1/2 inch long. Liked the look of the TA7 a little better but could not tell the difference between the two when hitting. At $399 v. $549, the TA5 won the match. The sensicore shafts really help with less than perfect contact. After three rounds, I have never hit my 3-6 irons as consistently straight and high. Gained maybe 1/2 club in distance, but that was not the true objective - forgiveness and distance control was and is. These clubs are not meant to finesse the ball left or right but as a solid 13 handicap, a predictably straight and high ball flight is better than blade-type feedback (loss of yardage) and control (draws to hooks and fades to slices). Very satisfied. It's a silly game, make it as enjoyable as possible.

Customer Service

Great - the tour van upgraded the grips to GP tour wraps at no charge.

Similar Products Used: TA 845s - great clubs for ten years. I won't sell them but do enjoy today's technology.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 31-40 of 209 | Prev 10 | Next 10