Cleveland CG12 Zip Groove Black Pearl Wedges

Do you like this product?

4.6

OUT OF 5
18 GolfReview reviews

3.9

OUT OF 5
37 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

55 REVIEWS

4.3

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

CG12 Zip Groove Black Pearl

The CG12 Black Pearl wedges combines classic design with advanced manufacturing processes. Grooves are milled to maximum conforming dimensions using a proprietary CNC mill bit to create envelope-stretching geometry.

Showing 1-10 of 18 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (18)

GtownGolfer22   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 23, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland CG12 black pearl 52, 56, 60 degree wedge

Great wedge. Read one guy's review that said its feels like a walmart knockoff, well then the walmart he's shopping at sells one hell of a wedge. Great feel from this club, and longer than most wedges because of the longer shaft. Great around the greens letting you play any kind of shot you want. Puts great amounts of spin on the ball with all those shots too. The color of the face does change after use, but who cares how it looks when it performs this good.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland CG14 wedge, titleist vokey wedge.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Raymond filip   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland CG 12 Black Pearl

The CG12 Black Pearl is a zoomy club! The zip grooves don't really make that much of a noticeable difference in performance. It's the slightly longer shaft that really rockets the ball into a surprisingly high trajectory. This requires adjustments. I needed a 52-degree gap wedge. But after trying the CG 12 once, I realized that it delivered the same distance as my pitching wedge.
The small spoony head also made it harder to hit than a teardrop-shaped club. The scratches on the clubface after one brief practice session didn't help either. And its clunky feedback felt more like a Wal-Mart knockoff.

So I immediately exchanged the Black Pearl for a Titleist spin-milled Vokey. Man oh man! What a beautiful difference in feel, playability and craftmanship. Neither the balls, nor my game, have suffered from its extra spin: true zip!





Customer Service

Not required.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland 588, Titleist Vokey sand wedge
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
Pete Stanley   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: CG12 Black Pearl

A few reviews said this wedge doesn't spin the ball much...you guys need a lesson! This thing spins the ball as much as a Vokey!!! My buddy got his 2 years ago, plays 3+ days a week and the grooves are fine...still spins the ball like a top! I just got mine last week and LOVE IT! You won't regret getting one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
gjm   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: CG 12

Have played Clev weg's for yrs. I love the black pearl(50,56 &60)helps/sun. The control is what I would expect. Spin in combo/ correct ball is 10 out of 10. Confidence sums up how I feel about these clubs. Only weg's that compare are T Volky's....

Customer Service

N A

Similar Products Used: T Volk's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
MyrtleBeachMan   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 31, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland CG12 Black Pearl

Great Wedges!
best clubs in my bag! They do exactly what claim to do. I know Cleveland is famous for their wedges and now I know why!

Similar Products Used: Ping
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
BobH   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 15, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland CG 12 Wedges

My course in New Hampshire has greens that act like landing the ball on a pool table... hard and fast.

I finally broke down and got two of these wedges, 56 and 52 and can actually get the ball to hold on the green. Being able to hit a short pitch to within ten feet and get the ball to stop has given me a huge boost of confidence. It removes the angst of missing greens. My ability to get up and down from within 50-yds has gone from 10% to 40%, and from the fringe to 20-yds out, gone from 40% to 70%.

My regular playing partner and good friend, after seeing me put yet another 20yd pitch shot to within three feet said "Will you STOP doing that!"

I attribute it to these wedges, not to any skill. I'm hitting the same shots as before, but now it's like throwing darts!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ben the golfer   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 12, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland CG 12 60 Degree

This club holds very well on mis-hits and is also very workable. Also, the thin flange(sorry if spelled wrong) helps get through sand. On chipping however, the ball does tend to go high and just stop with little or no roll, so i have to swing much firmer. Overall this lives up to cleveland's reputation of great wedges.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
parker19822   Shoots in the 80s [May 07, 2008]
Model Reviewed: CG12 52* and 56*

I used to play an old Cleveland RTG 60 degree wedge and a Cleveland chrome 53* Diadic. I had a huge gap between my wedges and never got the distance I felt I should from them. Since I've gotten the CG12's, there is less gap between my PW and 52* as well as between my 52* and 56*. I'm also hitting my wedges further. I believe the shafts are longer on the CG12'a than my old Cleveland wedges. The CG12's also feel lighter to me. I LOVE the look of the wedges at address too. I'm not too worried about the grooves wearing because I have a sweet USGA conforming groove tool that keeps em sharp. I've swung the Vokeys, and I like the look of them a lot, but the CG12's instill more confidence for me. Bought both wedges together brand new on ebay for 150 bucks! Golfsmith sells them for 110 each!

Similar Products Used: Cleveland RTG 60*
Cleveland Chrome 53* Diatic
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
pweigel   Shoots in the 90s [May 02, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Clevelend CG12 Zip Groove Black Pearl

Outstanding Wedges! Use Standard 52/56/60 combo and love the consistency and the increased spin. Easy to hit, come off clean and REALLY high. For the first time I am hitting my short shots with great confidence. Excellent for chipping, too. Has cut 5-6 shots off my round (was me weak point, now a strong point).I was worried about the black pearl finished compared to Chrome, but now am confident looking at the finish. Any age, any skill level will enjoy these. Brother bought same set LH and has had the same result.

Customer Service

Never Needed

Similar Products Used: Nike Forged Wedge 53/58 degree, Taylormade r7 XD Lob Wedge.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
gumpy   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: CG-12

These zip groves manage to make 2 piece low compression hard cover balls check let alone the tour balls...

fantastic feel, fantastic control, highly recommended...

Similar Products Used: vokey spin mills (fantastic also, just buy the brand that tickles your fancy, you can't go wrong)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18 | Prev 10 | Next 10