Cobra SS-i Oversized Irons

Do you like this product?

4.6

OUT OF 5
23 GolfReview reviews

4

OUT OF 5
34 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

57 REVIEWS

4.3

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

SS-i Oversized

Showing 11-20 of 23 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (23)

Mr. cool   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 14, 2004]
Model Reviewed: SS-i cobra irons

I think that the cobra ss-i irons are great irons there the nicest feeling club i've tryed, and i could hit them alot farther them my other set.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
simonben   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 01, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cobra ssi mens irons

Purchased new two months ago. Great clubs to play with, but the head snapped off the 4 iron when teeing off. Assuming it was a one off, got it replaced although it took nearly two weeks. Another two weeks on, and the head snapped off the 6 iron!!! Now call me paranoid, but I think I may have a duff set of clubs. Remains to be seen what Cobra do about this. I want them all replacing, as no doubt the sand wedge head will fly off in the bunker. It's not like I didn't hit the ball cleanly - I did. Two months old, this should not be happening. I have owned 3 sets of clubs over 18 years, two sets have been cheap and nasty,but they stayed in one piece for many years. COME ON COBRA!

Customer Service

Remains to be seen - does not look good so far, with their "wear and tear" policy, and pre-warnings of not accepting responsibilty!

Similar Products Used: 454 comp Driver - AWSEOME. Let's hope the head stays on.
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
Cypher21   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 20, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cobra SS-I

The first time I played with these clubs I broke 90(I got an 88), a score which has always eluded me although I have only been playing since last year. I never even hit them at the driving range before playing them. They are so easy to hit. Contact feels really nice when hit on the sweet spot and good when mis-hit. Mis-hits were only 10-20 yards off target. I have demoed the Ping G2's and the Taylormade RAC OS but I still liked the Cobras a little more. I truely believe that for the price you can't find a better set.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
bobblehead   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 14, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cobra SSi Oversize - steel shaft(reg)

Received the clubs yesterday and shot an 80!!! My personal best was an 84 before. Very forgiving irons and hits about 5 to 10 yards longer probably due to the stonger lofts. The balls gets up in the air a lot easier than my previous low end irons. They have a solid feel at impact but not much feedback which doesn't really matter to me. This may matter to low handicaps(single digit) who like to work the ball. The weight of the clubs are nice and you feel the club head when swinging. I purchased the 5,6,7,8 & 9 irons($75 CAN a piece) since I have rescue clubs and a specialty PW. Great clubs for the mid to high handicap at a reasonable price...I'll be keeping them for a long time.

Customer Service

Got custom fitted and received the clubs in 5 business days! Excellent service!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ckklint   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 12, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cobra SSi Oversize

The time had come this year to get serious about my golf game and upgrade my equipment. Bought a set of Top Flite XL 2000 irons last year but they just didnt do it for me. I went to Golf Galaxy and hit 6 different sets in the $350-$550 price range. It came down the the Cobras and the Taylor RAC Oversize irons. Both felt light but solid and straight hitting. Ended up with the Cobra's. They were cheaper and the Taylor's just didnt quite feel as solid. I am very happy with my purchase (new on Ebay)I usually shoot in the high 90s, bad days over 100. First day out with these I shot a 90! Second day out I shot an 84!!! Nine times out of ten I hit the greens inside 170 yards. Even the rare mis-hit was not far from target. This was the best golf purchase I have made. These are high quality irons and if you are in need of a game-improvement iron that will take you into the world of the mid-handicap, I highly suggest these irons!

Similar Products Used: Spalding Executive OS, Top Flite XL 2000, Armour Silver Scots, Adams Idea, Taylor Made RAC OS, Hogan Apex Edge
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
billybama   Shoots in the 90s [May 12, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cobra SS-I mens

Buy now. They have dropped 5 strokes from my game in 2 weeks. Very forgiving, but lose a couple of yards. But, take accuracy over distance. When you hit one of these dead on the sweet spot, you will pray to god thanking him that these irons were created! They are the best clubs I have ever hit.

Similar Products Used: Callaway Big Bertha irons 2002
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
dupont338   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 29, 2004]
Model Reviewed: cobra ss-i

must give them a try to really appreciate them!!! after playing armour 855's for years i decided it was time to update my bag. the 855's were decent but provided little to no feedback and/or feel. i tried several different irons before going with the cobras. the new big bertha irons(hit well, i just can't stand looking at them at address), taylor made rac/os(feel a little light for my preference, solid club, not a lot of feeback, all hits feel about the same unless you hit one dead-center in the sweet-spot, just didn't wooo me)mizuno mx-15(this was a great club, solid feel, good feedback on slight and outright mis-hits, very easy to hit. it was a toss up between these and the cobras). the cobras just feel great, swing easy, look great at address(to me anyway)which is why i chose them over the mizuno's. just heavy enough for me to be aware of where the club is throughout my swing, large sweet-spot, nobody's perfect and i sure don't pretend to be, these clubs launch the ball easily, are consistent, straight, everything you could want in a set of irons. and best of all they are one of the cheaper sets out there. these clubs are a 10 out of 5 in value, i mean come on!! some of the 6,7,& $800 sets feel like your hitting rocks!! i couldn't be more happy with them. try'em, you'll agree!! you could probably get them cheaper on ebay or something but i prefer to have my clubs fitted for me. getting clubs fitted for you and your swing is very underrated among the average golfer, it makes a difference!!!! my only regret, i didn't buy them sooner!!

Customer Service

Good so far, had my custom fit clubs to me in 9 days

Similar Products Used: calloway '04 big berthas, taylor made rac/os, mizuno mx-15, titleist 822os(just weren't worth the extra cash to me, don't forget, cobras are made by titleist!!)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ohiojimmy   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 02, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cobra ss-i irons

Cobra is making some great stuff lately. I love these ss-i irons!!! Compared them to Taylor Made RAC, Cleveland TA-5&7, Adams Idea and Top Flite Tours. Cobras felt the most solid, best feel at set up and overall better quality in my opinion. have used them for around 10 rounds and my handicap has improved three strokes. Got a great deal from my "friend at the factory"...$250 brand new...Life is good!!!

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made RAC, Cleveland TA5, TA-7
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
JasonCecil   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: King Cobra SS-i

This is the greatest set of irons I've ever played. They are the most fogiving iron around. I've added 5-10 yards per club and the feel is unbelievable. I now beat my playing partner by an average of 5 strokes per round. I traded in the Titleist 820 OS irons and these are much more accurate and feel better. These are a must own club.

Customer Service

Fantastic..........made the clubs 1\2 inch shorter and raised the angle 2%. Made and delivered in one week.

Similar Products Used: Title 820 OS
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Shawn   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 06, 2004]
Model Reviewed: King Cobra SSi irons

Very nice set of irons. Accurate and long. (I'd have to disagree with the last writer.) These are not shorter when it comes to distance. I changed over from a set of Pings and noticed an advantage distance wise with the Cobra's. But, that's not what sold me on the irons. Accuracy did! These hit STRAIGHT! Straighter than any iron I've owned. And a big plus for me, Cobra went from using 17-4 stainless steel to using 431 stainless steel. Much better feel! With the combination of the Micro-taper shaft and the 431 stainless steel, you get a much softer feel and yet retain the durability of a cast club. I am very happy with this set of irons. Others, I was happy with upon purchase, but after several rounds grew to dislike them. With the Cobra's all you do is line up to the target and fire away. And of course the other and more important reason for buying the Cobra's (as always), they are very forgiving.

Customer Service

Never had to deal with them.

Similar Products Used: Ping I-3's, G-2's, Callaway x-14's & x-16's, Taylormade 200's & 320's.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 11-20 of 23 | Prev 10 | Next 10