Maxfli Australian Blade Irons

Do you like this product?

4.7

OUT OF 5
12 GolfReview reviews

4.5

OUT OF 5
10 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

22 REVIEWS

4.6

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

Australian Blade

Showing 1-10 of 12 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (12)

Angus Macleod   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 14, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Aussie blades

What a set of irons. The most wonderful set I have ever stuck a ball with. No other club offers such control over elevation and shot shaping. As far as blades go, the sweet spot is relativly large (my handicap 14 boss is begging to buy them from me...sorry boss, not gonna happen.)

They offer good distance, and better control than any other irons I have played. A great set (the ultimate for me) if you see a set, treat yourself, you wont regret it. Even if they dont suit you, you can always pass them on to someone like me who wants a backup set, or someone who borrowed a set and fell in love

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Alan Waterworth   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 05, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Maxfli Pro Special Irons

I have a full set of these wonderful clubs, Maxfli Pro Special, bought them second hand from a friend some years ago, and haven't looked at buying any other irons since; they are truly wonderful to play with. Yes, as you would expect with blades, they are quite unforgiving with miss hit shots, but that only serves to make you work on your ball striking. I'm a mid handicapper and have no problems acheiving loft, distance, backspin and even shaping the ball in the air, despite these clubs being around 30 years old. I had the loft and lie adjusted to my swing by my local pro when I lived back in the UK, highly recommended for anyone considering buying a set of blades.
HOWEVER; I am now missing my sand wedge from this set; I left it by a bunker on one of my local courses, and by the time I went back, it had gone.. whoever took it didn't hand it in at the clubhouse either, a great shame that people do that.
SO, if there is anyone out there who would like to sell a sand wedge for this set, please contact me. Thanks :)

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
martin cullen   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 17, 2012]
Model Reviewed: maxfli austrailian blades

i had a set of these in the mid eighties when i was a junior golfer playing off 9!
all i can say is they are a great club going up from cavitity irons to blades which were alot more popular then than they are now, i love the feel they gave me and like people have said they are very rare these days
i hope maxfli make some new irons soon as they really were at the top of there game in the eighties plus all these new cavitity irons lack character and dont promote shot making that you got with bladed irons back in the day

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
troyster   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 25, 2010]
Model Reviewed: maxfli australian blade

Were popular amongst tour pro's in the late 70's when this model first appeared on the asian tour and obviously in austalia. I've never seen an original 70's model, but I guess it had a special grind, which american pro's wanted but could not get here in the united states. I only have a 5 iron and sand wedge of this model, the mid iron no doubt being a demo club. The one thing that I really like about the 5 iron is the dull leading edge. This ain't a digger like many other players clubs that have that sharp leading edge.The r-100 shaft is a big help too. These clubs aren't at all easy to find, the last used Maxflis I remember seeing were the revolutions. And if a person has poor swing habits they are not all that easy to use either. Price wise I believe they were less expensive than mizuno's or macgregor's.

Similar Products Used: mizuno mp14,taylor made burner tour irons[1997 models], a few other blades I bought as singles.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Mike D   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Australian Blades

I have had this set of maxfli australian blades for most of my life. I have tried to hit other irons such as forged and oversized clubs. NOTHING... can match the feel and play of the Australian blade. It has the feel and response that I crave in a iron. It is truly easy to get loft on the ball or keep it a little bit closer to the ground when needed. It gives you the feedback that is desired when playing. When you strike the ball cleanly it feels TRUE off the face. I Highly doubt I will play with any other club then the Ausie Blade.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
CATFORD   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Maxfli Australian Blade

What a awesome set of irons.....they have great feel....soft off the face and easy workability. These would good for ethier a player going from cavity backs to blades or a veteran blade user.....just an amzing set of irons with a classic look!!!

If you have a chance to pick a set of these up....do it!!!

Customer Service

None required!!

Similar Products Used: I have a set of MP 67's....but these are a ten times better iron than them!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
kzg golf   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: maxfli australian blades

These irons are great feeling and are very good if you are an accurate golfer because you can shape the ball with ease. The first comp game i played using these clubs and i shot 76.the dont go very far if you dont hit them out of the middle. Overall i think these clubs are grate, but are hard to buy.










Similar Products Used: the bridgestoe j33 blades, they are forged so they are a bit easier to hit
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
rstesting   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 11, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Maxfli Australian Blades

UpNDownGolf.com ebay bid is where I got these badboys. These clubs are made for one thing. Lower Scoring!! CG10 look, super soft feel, and very rare to find brand new. I suggest upndowngolf on ebay if you'd like import, hard to find, golf clubs.

Customer Service

I'm an avid net shopper. Golfio gave me a bad first impression. TGW takes too long on shipping. Golfsmith's just another golf site. UpNDownGolf/Customer service was the best over all. Check'em out on Ebay. Almost 10,000 sold products. Not bad for a local shop in southern CA.

Similar Products Used: Not similar, but have used. Cobra SZ Irons Nike Slingshots Mizuno T-Zoid True
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
andrew70   Shoots in the 70s [May 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Maxfli Australian Blade '92

I have owned these irons for a few years and they are my regular sticks. Best way to sum them up is this - they will exaggerate every good and bad move you put on the ball. They may be the most accurate irons I have ever tried but they are not forgiving. I am not one of these folks who feels the need to put a handicap number on who should play a certain type of iron. But I will suggest you have confidence in your iron game before deciding on these clubs. All in all they are basically awesome, though.

Customer Service

Never used.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP-33, Hogan Apex Blades, Walter Hagen Haig Ultras (great clubs), Ram Tour Grind, and many others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
tim jones   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 16, 2002]
Model Reviewed: maxfli australian blade

I have found the maxfli irons and woods the best clubs i have ever used. They are light and sure with the feel to direct the balls to an intended landing zone with accuracy, not many clubs have such a feel. My range is good with them as good as more expensive clubs.

Similar Products Used: Cobra rifle steel shaft, Brosnan, Titleist
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12 | Prev 10 | Next 10