Mizuno MP-29 Irons

Do you like this product?

4.8

OUT OF 5
39 GolfReview reviews

4.4

OUT OF 5
32 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

71 REVIEWS

4.6

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

MP-29

Showing 1-10 of 39 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (39)

Dave   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP-29

These are by far the best set of Irons I have ever played! I bought them used off a buddy and I know these clubs will stay with me until the day I die! I will never trade or give them up, they are that good. The feel when hitting a crisp shot is unparalleled and the distance is amazing. Sure there isn't a whole lot of forgiveness, but these blades force you to become a better ball striker. I have a set of cavity backs for practice and for training early in the season (I live in a very cold climate) but for tournaments these are the GO-TO clubs. If you ever get a chance to buy or even hit them, do yourself a favor and try them out, you will have in your hands one of the best sets of irons ever made!They will be hard to find as they are not made any longer, all the more reason to cherish these.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Lconn4   Scratch Golfer [Nov 24, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP 29

Played golf for over 40 years, started with dad's Hogans, then high school and college golf with Wilson Staff, Taylor Made for many years, Yamaha SXs for a few years, then bought the Mizuno MP 29s when they first came out. Love at first sight, same with feel. Gave up golf for the last 8 years, just giving it a rest. Have never seen or tried anything since that would ever make me give them up.
Great work Mizuno!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
herbsewell   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 30, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP 29

I bought these RH irons 3-P on ebay for a good price and the shafts in these irons are great. They have the precision FCM 6.5 shafts in them. These irons are extremely long. I haven't played a round with them but I can hit a 9 iron 150 yards and a 6 iron 200 yards. I guess I have to take a half swing for shorter distance. These irons are 1 inch over and are 2 degrees upright. They are a dream to hit. I can fade and draw the ball with these. If I want to hit a short shot I can hit the fade, and long boring shot hit the draw. The offset really helps the setup. Nick Faldo is my golf hero and these clubs make me feel like him when I really hit one well. Him and I are the same height, only he has more majors. I really love the look of them in my bag. I used to have some MP 14's with sensicore s300's, but these are far easier to hit. And the shafts are better. Forget the driver I will whip out the 3 iron. I can hit my 3 iron to the back of the range fence, which is about 230 to 240. I kid you not!! See ya later hybrid. These are amazing. Thanks Mizuno.

Customer Service

Hello, your forging is running?

Similar Products Used: Yonex Tour forged, Maxfli Tour forged Ltd.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
joenloen   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 28, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP 29

Hi, I am Ray from the Netherlands. 58 yrs old, started the game 4 yrs ago and play a sound 11 handicap. I have tried Callaways, Mizuno MP 33, 30, and 60 and also own 2 sets of Ping Eye2's Beryllium copper (wow!!). I love playing my pings but missed playing my sold MP 33's. I hear from all good players that the MP 29 are cooikies to hit. So....., I bought a set from a pro from Ebay. Dit you ever fall in love?? Well, I did with this set. I don't know whether they were pre-owned by a pro, precisely balanced or shafted (Riffle project x 6.0). But, boy do I hit these irons well. Even the iron 2 spurts of the blade like a rocket. Love on first sight, I hope this lady will love me back my whole life and will bring me my so desired single digit handicap.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Damien   Shoots in the 100s [Feb 15, 2008]
Model Reviewed: MP-29

My goodness gracious i have seen the light. GO find a set of these irons. I have never tried blades before, but i've been working really hard to improve this winter, and i wanted to get *real* clubs to help me develop a *real* swing, so i picked these up in great condition on ebay for $225. The whole set, 1-SW with rifle 6.5 shafts. The feedback you get from these clubs is worth a hundred lessons. Outstanding! If you decide you want to commit to your golf game, and you want to be consistent and confident, play blades. There is no better feeling. Don't get me wrong, i'm not saying the clubs will magically fix anything, you have to practice! I've been practicing my a** off, and I could tell instantly from the first well-struck ball that these clubs will make me relax and pay attention to reap the reward of that SWEET FEELING. *Never* shooting 100 again, if i can keep it in play off the tee this summer i'm in the 80's MARK MY WORDS!
I tried the MP-67's last week at the Chicago golf expo and they were ok, but compared to these, WEAK.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Titleist DCI 981
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
floxy   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 20, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP-29

I used to be a loyal Ping player, still think they make great clubs but nothing like the MP-29s. I've always been a bit intimidated by blades even though I'm a very good ball striker. I was wrong. If you are an advanced player, you will benefit from using these clubs. Ball flight and distances are amazingly consistent. No "hot" shots like cast clubs. There is nothing worse to me then hitting a great feeling shot and seeing it sail 10 yards over the green because it was hit "too" good. With these clubs you don't get the hot shots, just consistency and balls that stop like a butterfly. These clubs will also make your swing better, I agree with the previous reviewer that said your tempo will improve with blades. I love the look of these club, they're not too rounded like some of the newer blades. Whatever clubs you use, make sure they are fitted to your size and swing. Off the rack clubs are not right for most players. Do yourself a favor a see a club fitter, you'll be glad you did.

The only downfall is these clubs aren't made anymore and a set in good condition can be hard to find.

Similar Products Used: All Ping models. KZG Gemini and CH-II
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Graham Aschenbrenner   Scratch Golfer [Jul 10, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP-29

I previously played the MP-14s with Dynamic Gold S300 shafts and recently made the switch to the MP-29s. I absolutely loved the MP-14s; however, I personally hit them a bit too high. I switched to the MP-29 because they are 2 degrees stronger loft than the MP-14s and I feel I can keep the ball on a more boring trajectory through the wind, which is necessary in Texas. I've played several different types of blades and can honestly say that Mizunos are the most accurate clubs I've ever played. Even when I hit it "like a C plus" the ball seems to keep its line. I've noticed that the MP-29s are the most forgiving blades I've played. You will be hard pressed to find a club that produces such a consistent ball flight as the MP-29s. The ball just rifles off the clubface when struck well. This club will make you a better player because it exposes your swing faults. These clubs will pleasantly suprise you once you learn how to control your swing speed. If you want to become the best player you can, I suggest trying these clubs because they make you slow your swing down which will improve your tempo and balance. You will hit the ball further and more accurately on a CONSISTENT tour trajectory.

Customer Service

No comment. I don't get paid to plug golf shops.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP-14s, Wilson FG-17 Tour Blades, Hogan Apex Grinds
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
fr3dl33   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 16, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP-29

"To blade or not to blade?" That, my friends, is THE question. For me, the answer is "To blade." Let me tell you why? First, what type of player am I? I imagine that I'm like 90% of golfers out there. I would like to play better, but I don't put in nearly enough time on the range. I don't score well. But, in general, I hit decent. My scoring problems are in the short game. Unforgivin': True, blades are more unforgiving than cavity-backs. But, the question is HOW MUCH more? To me, not much. If you hit a bad shot, you will lose distance. But, again, by HOW MUCH in relation to a cavity-back? I'd say it's about 5-10 yards less than the cavity-back. Think of it this way: You've got 150 to the pin. You hit a bad shot. With the cavity-back, you'd be 10 yards short. With the MP-29's, you'd be 15-20 yards short. What's the difference? You still need to be able to get up and down. And, that, my friends, is the REAL issue!! Mmmmm . . . buttery: Like butter. If you pure a shot, the ball just rockets off the club face, and it melts like butter. Nothing like it. And, it's consistent. Every good shot will be the same. No crazy hot spots. Callaway v. Mizuno: Prior to the MP-29's, I played Callaway X-14's. Contrary to popular belief, the x-14's did not cure my swing faults. A fat shot still went no where. A slice was still a slice. The difference was that there was no feel with the x-14's. Bad shot, good shot . . . same ol' thud. How are you supposed to groove a swing like that? You have to VJ it: For some reason, when I think of practicing and really working hard on my game, I think of VJ Singh. With blades, you definitely have to VJ it. You can't go out there and hack fat and thin shots . . . like you could with cavity-backs. But, then again, I wonder if that's called golfing?

Customer Service

Not used yet.

Similar Products Used: Callway X-14's, Golfsmith Pro Forged
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
bahamutz1   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 02, 2003]

Had always afraid to buy blades, but I should have had them earlier. These clubs has improved my game, used to shoot high 90's now I can shoot high 80's / low 90's. One thing though, I spend more time in the driving range than playing on a course, so the reason I'm shooting 90's mostly because of my chipping / putting problems. These clubs do not give me more distance, in fact I loose about 10 yards especially when using long irons. I must say that I still have difficulies hitting solid long irons, I guess that's why I loose some distances. Short irons pretty much have the same distance as my previous clubs. The feel is superior, very soft and solid. The looks is just perfect! an absolute beauty.

Customer Service

Dunno...never had the chance to use 'em.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland TA-7, Bridgestone Clubs, Ping Zing 2, Ping Eye 2
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
prov1   Scratch Golfer [Dec 02, 2002]
Model Reviewed: MP 29 IRONS

SOFT AND SOLID . HAD SHAFTS PULLED AND HOSELS DRILLED TO CORRECT INACCURACY'S IN CLUB HEAD WEIGHTS .RESHAFTED AND FREQUENTCY MATCHED TO 8.25 WITH 50 GRAM LAMKIN GRIPS AND ADDED TAPE TO ACHIEVE DESIRED SWINGWEIGHT ( D-4 ).ALL CLUBS SWING EXACTLY THE SAME AND ALL PRODUCE A CRISP BUTTERY FEEL THRU THE BALL .VERY , VERY EASY TO WORK THE BALL AND TO CONTROL DISTANCE AND TRAJECTORY . TOP LINE SIGHTING IS THE BEST I'VE SEEN IN ANY IRON AND THE GRIND OF THE HOSEL PERMITS VARYING DEGREES OF SWING-PATH MANIPULATIONS TO PRODUCE VARIOUS SHOT SHAPES .DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THESE IRONS ARE DISCONTINUED,INASMUCH AS IT WOULD BE DIFFICULT IF NOT IMPOSSIBLE TO BUILD A BETTER DESIGNED HEAD FOR THE PLAYER DESIREING TO FIND THE BEST GAME POSSIBLE. SIMPLY WONDERFUL IN ALL PREFORMANCE PARAMETERS .

Customer Service

EXCELLANT AND RESPONSIVE

Similar Products Used: TOURNEYS ,CLEVELANDS ,ZEVO ,STAFF ,HOGANS , KENNY SMITH
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 39 | Prev 10 | Next 10