Nike Pro Combo Irons

Do you like this product?

4.5

OUT OF 5
137 GolfReview reviews

3.9

OUT OF 5
149 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

286 REVIEWS

4.2

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

Pro Combo

The perfect set of irons Nikeís heritage of innovation breaks golfís long-standing, traditional approach to irons Created using Nike Golfís two-step precision forging process Full-Cavity Long Irons, 2-3-4

Showing 1-10 of 137 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (137)

Chris Davis   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 16, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Nike Pro Forged Combo

I got some excellent used Nike Pro Forged Combo irons from globalgolf.com. I have played twice with them now, and they are by far the best irons I have ever used. I shot a 109 on the same course last week with my old irons. Yesterday I posted a 93. This is the best round I have ever played on any course. By the way, the course was a Robert Trent Jones tournament course for the LPGA. I dropped 16 strokes just because the irons are extremely consistent. Instead of laying up am now able to go for it. I picked up an extra 15 yards on my pitching wedge alone. If you have an opportunity to use these I seriously ask you to do so.

Customer Service

globalgolf.com had these irons to me in less than a week!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Casualgolfer   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 19, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Nike Pro VR Combo irons

I shoot with my old graphite Taylor Made cavity irons anything between 85 and 95. I purchased new in Sept 2011 a custom set of these forged beauties. The head is small and the 8 to PW blade are easy to hit, yes easy. The 6 iron is effortless. I hit all of them well. They surprisingly go further than my old clubs, distance is no problem. They are one club longer than my old set. The feel of the clubs on approach is excellent. On the downside but it can be overcome is that the PW inside of 50yd acts as a bump'n'run club. Also on short chips the ball does come hot off the face. I purchased a Callaway gap wedge provide other options to the bump and run offering of the PW at less than 50 yds. The PW will go with an easy swing easy to 135yds. It flies high and accurate. The 8 iron will handle 150 yds no problem. The ball flies high and long. These are a great set of irons

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Kaos   Shoots in the 90s [May 04, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Nike Pro Combo

These clubs are just a little to tight for the low to average golfer. When you strike the ball perfectly, they respond with a beautiful shot. Mis-hit even a little and your shot can go badly awry. If you're like me and have a slightly inconsistent swing, the Nike Pro Combo irons don't forgive enough. If you are an average golfer and are looking for a set of clubs to improve your score, this is not the set. You might eventually improve because you are forced to practice near perfect swings, but they definitely won't give you an immediate boost. Distance is also an issue. I'm using a 5 iron where I normally used a 7 and still coming up short.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
jaguargolf   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 18, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Nike Pro Combo Irons

I bought these clubs from ebay (2nd hand). It took awhile to get used but I must admit I can hit the iron shots a lot more purer than before. The greatest advantage these clubs have is that it gives you good feedback on whether you hit them well or not and helps to improve your swing to make sure you dont mis-hit them. Thats what its all about, playing and improving yourself as you progress in this game. Simply amazing.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
jdew83   Shoots in the 80s [May 10, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Nike Pro combo

I love these irons. I hit them very long and fairly accurate, only an 80s golfer,(partly because I started swinging harder right after I purchased them, but also have a bit of a draw too).
I hit my PW right at 150yd but I can't chip around the green like I used to. The flighted shafts are awesome but the PW inside of 50yd acts as a bump'n'run club which is okay as long as you don't have to climb over anything.
But other than that I love the clubs, love the look, distance and feel. And paid $150 for 3-PW on ebay brand new last year. Hope to have them for many years to come.

Similar Products Used: used Ping i3 for a year before switching to the Pro combo.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Kevin   Shoots in the 80s [May 02, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Nike Pro Combo

This is a very good set of irons. They do just what i mostly want them to. They are a good set for beginners that are just learning the game. They are a bit overpriced though.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Joeblack   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 10, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Nike Pro Combo Tour

I wanted to up my game and bought the Nike pro combo tours on Ebay for $149. 3-7 iron was good, but had a hard time with 8-PW. After a few rounds and a few days on the range all the clubs are good to go. Suprisingly accurate when hit on the sweet spot, but you feel the miss hits hard. I'd recommend these to someone trying to increase thier play and want to learn how to work the ball. It's fun thinking what you want to do with the golf ball and then doing it with these irons. Great clubs!

Customer Service

None yet.

Similar Products Used: Taylormade r7 and Callaway Big Bertha '04
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Eric   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 22, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Nike forged Pro combo irons

I love these irons! They feel incredible when you find the sweet spot. The minimal offset helps me line up the shots better. Love the short iron blades. The mid irons are the perfect blend between forgiveness and workability and feel. the long irons fell as good as the blade short irons but offer more forgiveness being a full cavity. All of the irons have a good penetrating ball flight.
All and all, love them and would recommend these to anyone. :)

Customer Service

none needed

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sgniwder99   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 04, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Nike Pro Forge Combo Irons

I bought these a couple of weeks ago, and so far I like them quite a bit. Like many mid-handicappers, I'm a fairly decent ballstriker with my mid- and short irons, but do tend to mis-hit my longer irons (mostly I hit pull hooks when I swing them poorly). I hit my buddyís Nike blades and really liked the feel of them, but didnít trust myself with long-iron blades. So I thought a progressive club design was a good compromise (would've like to try the Titleist ZB, but they were out of my price range).

So far I do really like these clubs. I'm still getting the distance of them down. Some people on here have complained that these irons are shorter than their old irons. I personally havenít found that at all, because they are significantly longer than my previous irons. Probably a good 15 yards longer, in fact. But I was hitting some really lame "game-improvement" irons from Cleveland, and while they were easy to hit straight, they were impossible to work and really short. I noticed that some of the people that complained that these irons are short were coming from straight blades to these. Maybe thatís different, but all that perimeter weighting for forgiveness in my old irons seemed to make it so that no shot was too bad, but no shot was very good, either. Like I said, these are significantly longer and they're also more workable, but they are obviously less forgiving, which means that distance varies more based on how you hit the ball (mis-hit versus pure obviously, but also a normal swing versus really muscling up). Itís something that takes a bit of getting used to, but I like it. It brings more feel into the game. And itís hard to beat suddenly hitting a 7 iron 175 yards and being able to play a fairly easy-to-hit club from as much as 200 yards out. That makes a lot of holes an awful lot easier.

The only thing Iíve really noticed so far thatís somewhat odd is that Iím taking bigger divots with these clubs than I ever have before. But I donít think itís the clubs; I think Iím just attacking the ball a bit more so Iím driving down through it more than I did in the past. But it hasnít really cost me many times so far.

Like any clubs, they're only right for you if they're right for your game. And overall, I think these clubs are a great compromise between blades and cavity backs for most decent golfers. Itís really surprising that more brands donít make sets like this.

I'm giving them 5 stars for overall, but only 3 stars for value, because new I think these clubs are a bit overpriced. I got a great deal on a used set on ebay, though. That's the way you should go.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
nikesky42   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Pro Combo Irons

The search is over. Theese irons are amazing... i was about a 8 handicap when i got theese. Im about a 4 now. They have such a good feel and you can really control the ball. The lower irons have some real accuracy to em. The price didnt kill me either. I will never go to any other irons.

Similar Products Used: nike forged blades
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 137 | Prev 10 | Next 10