Ping Classic Series -Bronze, Stainless, BeCu Putters

Do you like this product?

4.8

OUT OF 5
59 GolfReview reviews

3.8

OUT OF 5
28 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

87 REVIEWS

4.3

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

Classic Series -Bronze, Stainless, BeCu

The "Classic Series" Ping Putters include all non-insert, traditional designs made from Manganese Bronze, Stainless steel or Copper. These are the timeless classics such as the "Anser," "Pal," "Zing" "Blade" and "B60" series ...and unique designs such as the double bend shaft "Kushin" and the rare center shafted "69." When entering a review for your treasured Ping Classic: PLEASE FOLLOW THE THESE GUIDELINES: Use the following designations to describe your specific putter: "MB" -Manganese Bronze (dark brown in color like the Anser or Pal. "SS" -Stainless Steel (like the Anser 2, 4, Zing 2 and B60) "BeCu" -Copper (was featured in the Anser 2, 4, Pal 2, 4, B60 and Zing2) Ex: Model Reviewed: "MB" Anser or "SS" Zing 2

Showing 11-20 of 59 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (59)

Floyd Huynh   Shoots in the 100s [Aug 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Ping PAL

Solid, well-balance, great feeling, good-looking putter I have ever used. I can putter with one hand within 5-footer yet still can make the hole. I notice the more I loose up my normal grip the better feel and response back I get from the putter. I saved a lot strokes on the green with this putter. Even a shoot-in-the-100s like myself can amaze all partners I go with all the time. The important thing I start loving to putt more, it makes you feel like you putt like a pro and make you feel more confident on the green. Basically, I highly recommend this Ping putter to anyone who likes to improve their games. A little expensive but it worths every penny and surely will last long (unless you break it)

Customer Service

I should get the red dot (for better build with my height 5'6") yet black dot still work for me. I didn't know about Ping color code and seller assumed I know what I wanted. I would appreciate if he should bring it up. But hey, I still love my PAL.

Similar Products Used: Callaway Bobby Jones and other cheapy putters in SportMart
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Bob Crews   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 02, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Ping G2 Anser C

Though I've played with numerous putters over the years one of my favorites was an original PING Anser 2. I've most recently switched between the Anser 2 and an Odyssey II, always going back to the Anser 2 because it proved to be the better of the two putters. I recently bought a new PING G2 Anser C putter with PING's "Finger Lock" grip. I must say that this new putter is amazing! Not only do I like the way this putter sets up, which is inportant, but PING has done a remarkable job balancing this putter...and maybe all their new G2 putters. I believe the head is a little heavier, which really helps to put a pure pendulum swing on the putting stroke. And the "Finger Lock" grip is larger in diameter [and depth] to help take the wrists out of the stroke for pendulum stroke type putters. This Anser C putter is incredibly easy to align, which is extremely important. I've used putters before that I was sure (in my mind) that I was aligned properly to find out that I wasn't...they just didn't set up properly. Now I use a laser light when working on my putting [or considering buying a new putter] to confirm that the putter is truly aligned as I "think" it is. The PING Anser C was dead-on-the-money when I aligned up putts. In fact, I have re-tested my alignment numerous times over a number of days using the laser light and this putter has yet to be off...and this is confirmed with me making a lot of putts that I would otherwise mis-alaign slightly and miss the putt. Obviously, the Anser C is a perfect choice for me and that's tremendously important for a player's confidence to have trust in his putter. I feel like that if I can read the break - I will make the putt. I highly suggest anyone interested in a new putter to consider the new PING G2 Series putters...and the Anser models in particular. Have I mentioned that I love my PING Anser C putter? If I haven't, I do!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
TP-9Lefty   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 22, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Ping Anser "Dalehead"

This one is really old. Still has the early style "Pro Only" grip that is cracked and slippery beyond recognition, but I refuse to change it because I love the look and it keeps me from gripping the putter too tight. I spray the grip occasionally with Armour All to keep it from turning into dust. My playing partners think I'm mad. The head, I believe, is made of BeCu copper. It's very heavey and solid. Steel shaft with first step being 5 1/2". Putter head also has the slit on the underside. I've had a Ping putter in my bag for 5 years now. I was using the Anser Isopur for a long time and always got good results with it. For some reason, I could never make the mental adjustment of having an actual insert making contact with the ball. So, I found this old relic for a great price and gave it a go. Like all Anser putters, it's extremely reliable. Set-up is very comfortable and the offset aids in keeping the hands in front, producing a more solid contact. My previous Isopur made a dull thud at impact, but this one produces a "ching." Like I said, its got quite a bit a weight which helps me on those putts coming off the apron. The simplicity of the putter makes it very easy to control speed and distance. Occassionaly, I fool around with the new putters in the shop but thats the extent of it. They stay in the shop and my old Dalehead stays in my bag. It's rather comical to see all the brands that have emmulated the Anser style. Putting is all in your head. We had a guy hold a clinic at the course who was draining some fabulous putts with a roll of nickles secured to a wooden shaft. He was making an extremely valuable point. I prefer the Anser becuase I feel confident with it in my hands. It has a timeless look, it's wonderfully balanced, and produces a very clean and straight roll. I would never suggest that somebody goes out and buys one based upon my success with the putter. Putters are personal and probally the most important club in the bag. Get a putter that makes you feel very confident when it's in your hands. If you haven't tried the Anser, then by all means do so! They are just as good (IMO, better) as any putter out there. In addition, you can get them very cheap on EBAY. And last but not least, practice, practice, practice! If the putts are not falling, think of the guy with the roll of nickles before you run off to trade that putter in.

Customer Service

I sent my 5 iron to Ping to have it reshafted. They did a perfect job. In addition, they polished the entire club head making it look brand new for no extra charge. Top notch company.

Similar Products Used: Teardrop, Ping Anser Isopur
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Adam   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Ping Classic Series /Bronze Stainless BeCu

I am a young golfer and will make this my putter for as long as i can, I love this putter, it has a heavy club head which makes me get a better feel. I wasnt a good putter and i often hit the ball to far on every putt, till i got this...I recommend this for anyone.

Customer Service

...

Similar Products Used: Callaway Putter, Taylor Made Rossie
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Adam   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 12, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Ping G2 Zing Putter

Well I have to start off by saying that I think Ping makes the best putters on the market,with scotty cameron a close second.Anyway I have been putting with a old ping blade putter for the last 5-6 years,and it is still one of the most pure putters out there imo.So today as i was finishing buying a new set of irons(690 mb)i picked a new G2 Zing putter.I proceeded to roll in 15 of next 20 putts from 10 feet and out.This putter gives a great since of feel when stroked right.The ball just seems to roll smoothly and truely off of the face of the putter.I don't know what else to say about the putter.Now i guess the test is to see if i can cut some strokes off my scorecard

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Pat Yantarakitkosol   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 11, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Ping Anser G2 black dot

I alway been a fan of ping putter. I try most of the model come out. The pixel one, Iso pure, and my recent one was ping anser iso pure II. The iso pure II is very solf and feel very nice. Very good on shot put cause of the tuntun insert on both end of the putter face. But not so good on long put because it was too soft coundn't get no feel. So I change to this G2. Oh boy! I was like a magic. It feel like scotty cameron with a affortable price. Then I hardly miss shot put and also hardly 3 putted any more. I will advise you guy that putt real bad to go check out the book call Dave Pelz, the putting bible. It will help you guy too.

Customer Service

Never use

Similar Products Used: Scotty cameron, Tear drop
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
R Fernandez   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 09, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Ping Anser 4 34" Flare Tip Hosel

The Ping Stainless Steel series offers the best feel I've ever seen in a putter. I've tried inserts and gimmicks...hey, some are great. In my opinion you cannot beat the feel of a well made steel putter, and PING knows how to make them! The most important thing about these putters, however, is that PING offers what few other putter manufacturers do, custom fitting, and readily available instructions on how to fit yourself. Don't just buy a putter...fit yourself for one. This makes ALL the difference in the world. After studying my tendencies, I sought out the right putter for me by going to the PING web site. Although part of fitting a putter correctly is making sure that you like the way it looks, this is only a confidence builder. In spite of this, 99% of golfers buy putter after putter on looks, and by hitting a few balls on a store carpet as their guide. You NEED to know what kind of putter, hosel, length of shaft, and grip combination to use based on your stroke. These components DO make a difference. After that, simply have the lie, and if necessary the loft adjusted. You won't be sorry. Off the rack is for the birds! For me, the PING Anser 4 with a Flare Tip Hosel helped me to stop pulling puts. Since I am average size, and I do not forward press during my stroke, a standard loft and lie is the ticket. Although PING makes a great product, the best thing they offer in my opinion is information on how to get the best out of your putter.

Customer Service

Excellent! Assistance is available by phone or email. PING is willing to adjust putter lie even if it is 1/2 of a degree.

Similar Products Used: Carbite, Odyssey
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
  Scratch Golfer [Oct 21, 2002]
Model Reviewed: ping anser 2x

the long hosel of the 2x intrigued me enough because it sat down like a bullseye classic but the overall playability and forgiveness of a perimeter weighted putter the grip is a ping diamond grip which fits my hands like a glove and the satin stainless finish makes this a putter that will stay in the bag for years to come!!! avg: 2.75 birdies per rd. and climbing seeing the line really good with this design

Similar Products Used: sc newport
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
NMS816   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 30, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Ping Anser 3

I was out looking for a new putter as my previous model felt very light and unbalanced. After trying many models, I found this putter and immediately saw and felt a big difference in my putting. Balance, weight, clubhead size and look was perfect! Took it out on the course and I felt like I had been using this club all my life. This is a great club and I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a putter that they are willing to go the distance with. You have to really work at the putter because the "sweet spot" is kinda tricky though! Other than that, this club is money!! If I were to have one downside to this club, it would be that the "sweet spot" is hard to find (I'm working on that). I find that hitting to high on the face sends that ball to long.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
dasportskid5   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 26, 2002]
Model Reviewed: PING Anser 4 SS

Excellent putter. The weight is perfect for me(13 yrs. old). Mallet head designs always leave me quite a bit of room past the hole, and small blades cause too much wrist action. The feel is incredibly solid but lets you know when you get a mis-hit.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used: Titleist, Odyssey#5, Cleveland-> (Worth a try!)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 11-20 of 59 | Prev 10 | Next 10