Snake Eyes MB-1 Irons

Do you like this product?

5

OUT OF 5
19 GolfReview reviews

5

OUT OF 5
1 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

20 REVIEWS

5

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

MB-1

Showing 1-10 of 19 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (19)

golfincity   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes MB1

Just managed to get hold of a used but superb condition set of Snake Eyes MB1 3i-10i(PW). The forged is done by Smith & Wesson (the revolver people), the one and only model.
I have been playing cavity back irons and have been searching for a affordable set of forged muscle back blades to try out. The blade MUST be forged for the feel on such small sweet spot. If the blade is not forged then must well stick with cavity back.
Anyway, bought the set from a terrific golfer who happened to have 2 sets. Everything original, the set comes with TT Sensicore shaft (S300) and original Golf Pride Snake Eyes Velvet grip. Definitely value for money, bang of the buck set.
Cleaned up the set and brought it out the range and this set can really perform. I am not a consistent swinger but when I swing it right, the ball flight is so beautiful and the distance has actually increased for my PW and 7i compare to the Cobra Carbon CB. The 3i has such a small club head which looks intimidating but it is quite easy to hit.
Did some research on the web and found out this is a collectors model since this is the one and only Smith & Wesson forged model and last of the Snake Eyes before they were bought over by GolfWorks.
I will give this set a full 5 rating since everything is so right on this set. Playability, value, aesthetic (very nice looking blade, not too bland).

Customer Service

No required so far but the furrell on some clubs need to be adjusted, will bring this to my usual club fitter.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MX-23, Titleist 690CB, TaylorMade RAC TP, Cobra Carbon CB.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Misterioso007   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes MB1

I have played many, many sets of irons and none compare to this set for feel, workability, beauty and distance. These clubs look amazing and are as smooth as silk when struck correctly, which is to say don't play them if your game is on hiatis. I have 3 sets of these and wouldn't get rid of them if you asked. Do I play these on a regular basis? Unfortunately my game isn't to the level to play them consistantly so I don't play them much. Nonetheless, the best irons I have ever owned hands down.

Customer Service

Never used.

Similar Products Used: Titleist 690MB, Titleist 670, Cleveland CG1.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Proteegolf   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 21, 2005]
Model Reviewed: snake eyes mb-1

Great looking blades. Very pure feel. I bought them used on E bay 4 years ago. 3-10 iron with sensicore s -300 shafts. I think these are going to be a very rare gem as they were discontinued 5 years ago.

Similar Products Used: I play mostly blades from the 1960's and the 1970's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
a53572   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 19, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes MB-1

An excellent set of irons. I moved from a set of Mizuno MP-14's, which are also great. I'm very glad I made the move to such a unique set of clubs. You won't find too many sets of these around, and rarely will you find someone who knows these clubs at all. Well worth the look on e-bay and regripping.

Similar Products Used: MP-14's 690MB's. This set has a better feel than either one of these.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jim Camp   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 18, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes MB-01

Beautiful clubs, I purchased them because I couldn't afford them when they first came out years ago. The set I have is 3-10, played only a couple of rounds of golf on them and are my collector's items/set as they were Smith & Wesson's first and thus far only forged heads. I kept asking my co-worker if he wanted to part with them. He was looking to replace them with a set of Cleveland TA-3's. The clubs are immaculate as the guy I bought them from shoots upper 70's/low 80's (40 % of those are with a putter and a 1/3 of the remaining shots are with a driver). I'd say this set has less than 50 shots spread over the set. I almost wished he had never used them, but that would be like finding a never driven 57 Thunderbird or 53 Corvette.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ronnie rRice   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 06, 2003]
Model Reviewed: snake eyes mb-1

These are the best feeling clubs I have ever hit. They are somewhat harder to hit than a lot of other irons I have played,but there is nothing else like them when you catch them sweet.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Bogeyman   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 10, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes MB-1

Although my swing is not as consistent as it once was before settling down to raise a family, I just had to have a set of these beautiful irons. These are as pretty as they come. "Feels" as good, if not better than other premium forged clubs out there that I've played. Specs are right on and workmanship is undeniably first rate. Only minor criticism is that of the offset in the short irons. If the set had progressive offset I think these would be one of the all-time best blade designs. Offset tends to make my shots go higher. However, I am still in love with these hotties.

Customer Service

I have had nothing but great dealings with the Golfsmith store in West Houston. They are great!

Similar Products Used: '99 Hogan Apex, Apex PC, Mizuno MP-14, Titleist Tour Model.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Charles Gates   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 28, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes MB-1

I bought these clubs mainly because they look and feel great. I had been playing with toe weighted cavity backs, but wanted to learn how to work the ball right and left and also groove a better swing. These clubs will definately do that. Within a couple of weeks, I was getting the solid shots I wanted. Now, four years later, I get exactly the ball action you see the guys hit on television (at least the top ams...). I have purchased the wedges, which were Ernie Vadreson's bread & butter with tour players in the early 90's. These clubs are heavy and great for close in action around the greens. If you are serious about learning to strike the ball solidly and groove a consistent swing, these clubs, if you can find a set, are fantastic. A set of iron covers is almost mandatory since the soft forgings will nick badly when carried in a bag. My iron set is the 3 - P with 5.5 Rifle shafts. The wedges are 52A, 56S, 60L with 6.0 Rifle shafts. The grips have been changed out to Golf Pride tour wraps on the irons and Winn grips on the wedges (I don't use a glove from 100 yds. in). I am really sorry that Golfsmith hasd not continued this particular line of clubs. They may not have sold too many sets, but my personal feeling is that the golf industry needs this high level of quality clubs for those who take the time to really work on their games. To my knowledge, Golfsmith will repair, regroove and re-chrome these older sets. They are a great company to work with and publish some very informative booklets on club manufacturing, shaft specs as well as all the tools required for clubmaking. Perhaps if enough people lobby for a return of the original MB-1's, Carl Paul just might put a call into S & W someday......

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ronnie rRice   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 13, 2002]
Model Reviewed: snake eyes mb-1 forged blades

I have hit every thing you can think of. I strike the ball pretty good, you have to with these clubs.There is nothing even close to these clubs, that I have hit. They have the best feel of any iron I have ever hit.I can't understand why these clubs aren't made any longer. If you ever get a chance to try them , you will see.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
mike arsenault   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 26, 2002]
Model Reviewed: mb/1 SMITH/WESSON snakes eyes

Superior quality and craftsmenship. One negitive, definitely needs regripping and also has a slight offset. These irons are pure but you need to put a solid swing with these clubs. Very small sweet spot.

Similar Products Used: mizuno hogan, classic muscleback blades
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19 | Prev 10 | Next 10