TaylorMade R580 Drivers

Do you like this product?

4.8

OUT OF 5
120 GolfReview reviews

3.8

OUT OF 5
17 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

137 REVIEWS

4.3

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

R580

400cc oversize deep face design for players who want higher trajectory and maximum distance. Conforms with USGA Regulations.

Showing 51-60 of 120 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (120)

Beefa   Shoots in the 80s [May 07, 2004]
Model Reviewed: R580 10.5* Grafalloy Blue Stiff

Tried the R580 8.5* with standard stiff shaft and hit everything with a high fade when at the same time I was hitting both the Genex and AirMax with my normal low draw. The main reason for this is the standard Mas shaft in the R500 series is too flexible and of poor quality for a 100mph swing speed. At that stage I was sold on the Nickalus AirMax 430. Saw the R580 10.5* with Grafalloy Blue on Ebay and bought it as I knew this shaft had to be an improvement on the Mas shaft. What a difference a superior quality shaft makes. The Grafalloy Blue is very stiff and has low torque which keeps the blue flight down balancing the 10.5* loft and high launch angle of the R580. Would not have purchased this club with the Mas shaft and high loft but with the Grafalloy Blue shaft itís an excellent driver.

Similar Products Used: Nickent Genex 425 Nickalus AirMax 430
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
aron15   Shoots in the 80s [May 06, 2004]
Model Reviewed: TM R580 10.5* w/ Graffaloy Blue stiff shaft

What a driver! Originally I got this club for my dad as a b-day present and now I have stolen his club from him. I had to when I saw the incredible HIGH HIGH HIGH and long and straight drives I was hitting. The distance of this club is maybe 5 yards longer than my old Cleveland Launcher 400. The feel of this driver is great. A very soft "ting" sounds when you strike the ball. This driver is very forgiving, too. The weight is perfect for me. This is a great driver for everyone. I recommend it whether you're a scrath golfer or a 100 handicap, it doesn't matter.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Cleveland Launcher 400, Mizuno MP-001
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Bizzy Blake   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 24, 2004]
Model Reviewed: R580 Driver

I had heard a lot about the Taylor Made R500 series driver and wanted to find out what all the talk was about. After trying out the R580 and comparing it to the Cleveland Launcher 460 my choice was easy. At setup the R580 had a much better look and felt more comfortable than the Launcher. I was also hitting the ball about 20 yards further with the R580. For me thew choice was easy, and the only thing bad about the club was the unusaul "ping" sound made during contact. However, the sound was easy to get over after i began belting drives over 280(a larger improvement from my last driver. The R580 was one of my best purchases and has also helped in lower my scores.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made R540 XD and R580 XD
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
johnr57   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 22, 2004]
Model Reviewed: TM R580

If you are a hacker like me and think that this is the magic stick you're waiting for to gain those 300 yard drives then you are wasting your money. It is a very forgiving club though but distance is relative to your ability. This club is at par or just slightly longer than my old Snake Eyes Pro COR driver. The main difference though is on mis-hit shots. Because of the larger sweetspot, it would still give a respectable distance off the tee box. The only thing I did not like with this club at first is that I was losing distance (compared to my Snake Eyes) when I hit a fade. With a 10.5* loft, my shot goes high, fades and then loses yardage. A sidespinning shot with this club penalizes your shot. I got a low handicapper friend watch me hit drives one day and noticed that the head is lagging badly thus the open face on contact resulting in fade/slice. He asked me to turn my hands over a little earlier and that helped me square the clubface at impact. The results are "magical". Since then, I was able to add up to 40 yards on my drives perhaps due to a lower spin on the ball. This is only 10-15 yards longer than my old driver but hey that is one club shorter on the approach shot. By the way, my club came with a Fujikura ProVista70 Regular and it's a much much better shaft that the stock shaft.

Customer Service

None yet

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made Burner Bubble; Snake Eyes Pro COR
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Long N Straight   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 580 9.5 Stiff

Nice driver, fairly long and very good control. But, save your money and get a used or new (if you can find one) 360 Taylormade. I was using the 360 for 2 years and just wanted a different driver. Taylormade claims the 580 is longer and straighter... NOT true. I am hitting virtually the exact same spots in the fairway with my 580 as with the old 360... so save some $ and grab an excellent club for less than half the price and get a 360...

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used: Taylormade 360, Nike 400 and 450 (both terrible)
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
2
barney23   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 24, 2004]
Model Reviewed: TM R580 10.5, fuji vista pro 60

I played the TM 320 for the past year and a half and I like the club. It was pretty long and accurate and also eay to hit. I tried a friends 580 and to say that I was extremely impressed was an understatement. The stock shaft performed pretty well but when I had the opportunity to get a fuji shaft I took it. While there is no major difference in performance, this combo has a more smooth feel to it, which makes it more enjoyable to hit. Apart from this driver being about 10 yards longer than my 320, it is much easier to hit at 400cc and a lot more forgiving. Which means I am longer, straighter more often. At first it seemed very big but now I am used to the size. Overall I highly recommend this club. I think the majotity of golfers would enjoy this club, particularly at the prizes they are at the moment.

Similar Products Used: Steelhead plus, Titleist 975D + JVS, Taylor Made 200 + 320.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
MrTobasco   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R580

My older driver was the TM burner bubble shaft. After playing this club for three years (I bought it used in 1999) I was in the market for a new driver. At first I bought the Callaway Big Bertha II driver to complement my Big Bertha Iron set I had recently purchased. After using the club several times, and having difficulty with control, and splitting the shaft open Callaway believed I needed a stiff flex shaft. Well this made my driving woes go from bad to worse. Needless to say I ditched the club and opted to return to old faithful...the Taylor Made family. I pulled the R580 off of a demo rack and brought it to the range. Immediately my distance was increased from 275 yds to at least 295. My shot consistency was greater than ever before hitting 6 of 10 shots straight or with a slight fade. The club has a great feel and address is very comforting with the massive 400cc head. The club is light and gives great confidence knowing that the club performs VERY well with mis-hit shots. I will never opt out for another club with the exception of a v-foil by macgreagor if anything should go wrong with the r580. I recommend this club to anyone who wants to buy a new driver. The sweet spot on the club has increased dramatically and the club is extremely easy to use. If you slice or hook, much like I used to, this club is an excellent tool to help with lowering bad shots. Like I said before, I hit the ball with a fade, I couldnt do that before I had this club! Great club! Go buy it and make the game fun again! Drawback to the club...expense. I bought the thing last year for three hundred and change and now the club is on clearance. Also the stock shaft has a lot of flex in it for a Regular shaft. I have yet to have it replaced because I am pleased with the performance of the club. As you know a shaft is the engine of the club and I would recommend reshafting the club after you recover from buying the driver!

Customer Service

Only registered the club

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made Burner Bubble 10.5 deg. driver Callaway BB II 10 deg. driver Taylor Made Point and Shoot 56 deg wedge Taylor Made Burner Bubble shaft 5 wood Callaway BB irons Nike CPR wood and iron
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
jpzc04   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 13, 2004]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade 580

I bought this driver with a fujikura vista pro 60 stiff shaft(67g). I gained only 5-10 yards over my previous driver (Cobra SS 350) but I gained a ton of control. I used to have a tendency to spray the Cobra but now with the TM 580 I have a much tighter shot pattern. Some say it is not easy to work the ball due to the large club face but I find it quite easy to work the ball left or right. Excellent club and well worth the investment.

Customer Service

Haven't needed to use customer service yet.

Similar Products Used: Cobra SS 350, Nike 350, Taylor Made Supersteel, Taylor Made 360
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
darrylt   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 06, 2004]
Model Reviewed: TM R 580

I was really excited about this driver. I had hit one during a round of golf and liked it. Bought one wwith the identical shaft and it was terrible, couldn't find a fairway. It was so bad that I used my 3 wood on the back nine. Took it to a clubmaker and had the shaft checked; it was far out of alignment. Had it reshafted it's great now. If your going to buy new driver, demo and buy the one you like. Picking one off the rack is a crap shoot.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: Cleveland Launcher 330, Adams Redline
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
5
philipaparker   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 02, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made 540XD Driver

This driver 10.5 degrees of loft, is big at 400cc and came with a regular flex shaft. My irons are stiff flex and I thought I should have a stiff flex driver. My wife suprised me with it at Christmas and I took it to the range and thought I'll be real careful and just hit one ball before I go exchange it for a stiff flex. I have been playing with it ever since. Even during this wet winter in Northern California I am hitting a long ways. Overall this club is one of the most balanced, easy to hit drivers ever. The ball just keeps on going after you hit it. It's easily 10 to 20 yards longer than my previous Taylor Made Super Steel Driver. The new technology in these clubs spoils you. They are so well balanced and easy to hit. I have since bought the matching 580, 3 and 5 woods, again excellent clubs. These along with my TM 300 forged irons make golfing a whole lot of fun.

Customer Service

The folks at Don Sherwoods are great. I have never had a problem with Taylor Made equipment.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made SuperSteel Driver, Callaway Big Bertha.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 51-60 of 120 | Prev 10 | Next 10