TaylorMade R7 XD Irons

Do you like this product?

4.8

OUT OF 5
50 GolfReview reviews

3.3

OUT OF 5
72 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

122 REVIEWS

4.1

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

R7 XD

  • Inverted Cone Technology
  • 100% milled thin titanium clubface
  • Tuned Performance Cartridge
  • Deep-back CG

Showing 21-30 of 50 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (50)

Jerry Myers   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 24, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R7 XD Irons

I found my thrill....explosive, accurate and forgiving....and more workable then some say. My fifth set of irons since 1972 (age 12). My first set was Wilson Cary Middlecoff's, then Redbird 880's, then Callaway Big Bertha Warbird's, then MacGregor 1025's....and now Taylormade R7 XD's....My new irons are so much better its hard to describe....3 trips to the range and 2 trips to my local course and I could not be happier....these irons are a blast to play with. I'm hoping to drop a 1-2 strokes off my handicap. By the way....I only paid 499.99 + tax....what a steal!

Customer Service

Never needed....

Similar Products Used: Ping, Titleist, Mizuno, etc. all nice but the Taylormade's are better!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
XFactor   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 21, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R7 XD steel stiff

I've never owned a new, brand name set of irons before. I've been using some knock-off irons for the last couple years and was really dissapointed with the performance. So, as a Christmas present to myself, I got a new set of irons. I tested many different irons and was considering three different sets; Callaway Fusion, Callaway X-18's, and the Taylor Made XD's. The Fusions were very nice, but I just couldn't get over the price tag. The X-18's were nice also, however, I didn't like the ball flight I was getting with them. They also just seemed a little too light. The XD's were awesome. The ball flight was beautiful. High, but no ballooning, and super long. I ordered a set off the net for 599$ brand new (you can get them for less, but being a lefty makes it a little harder to even find what your looking for, let alone compare prices.)I took them out on the course and the difference from my old irons was amazing! I was literally 2 clubs longer and even miss-hits carried a mile. When you do miss hit one, especially off the toe, you will know it. It's not a horrible buzz up the shaft, but you can feel it (though the ball still flies nicely). The weight of the clubs is perfect. My brother has a set of Titleist forged 704's. The XDs are lighter than them, but a little heavier than the X-18's.

If I had to complain about something it would be the grips and the gap I now have between my PW and SW. The grips can be replaced, no problem. I got the 3-PW set and am using my old faithful SW. Now I need a GW to fill the distance gap between the two.

I would recommend these irons to those who want more distance and a little more height from their irons. You will find yourself on more greens more often putting for birdie! (They can't help you putt any better, unfortunately...)

Similar Products Used: Callaway Fusion, Callaway X-18, various other game improvement irons.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
1anteup   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 07, 2006]
Model Reviewed: R7 XD

I AM IN TOTAL AWE! I can produce any shot that I visualize. A very nice draw, fade, punch, knock down, high, low, trajectory. I love these irons.
I have been using, Ben Hogan Apex Edge Pro's for the last 4 years. They are fantastic irons, (if you can pure every single shot). I take nothing away from these irons.
I had purchased the T.M. RAC LT2's, they were easy to hit and had a high trajectory, but they fell about 1 to 1-1/2 clubs shorter than my Hogans.
I read the reviews on the R7 XD's and I said what the heck. I bought a set, and all I can say is "what a shot"! after every swing. From about 150 yards in, I can make the ball stop on a dime, and give you nine cents change! (or it makes me feel that way).
Appearence wise, They are a bit larger than what I am used to. I don't like the wide top line, or the semi-wide sole, but what the heck, You can't beat the results. These irons are even longer than my Hogans. (about 1/2 club longer).
I have never wrote a review on anything, But the 5 rounds that I have played with these irons, are the lowest scores that I have ever produced.
These clubs are long, and forgiving, They work for Me, and That is why they call this a product review.
Now everything in my bag (bag included) is Taylormade. GO TAYLORMADE!

Customer Service

I once had trouble with a hybrid, and they sent me a new one, no questions asked.

Similar Products Used: Cobra CXI's, titleist DCI's, Golfsmith Tour Cavity, Hogan Apex Pro's, Taylormade RAC LT@'s.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
cjdelaysr   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade R7 XD irons

I have made a previous entry regarding these irons and they are outstanding. I am a little upset that they are being discontinued after only 1 year on the market. The Pro at a large golf chain told me that the cost of the Titanium heads versus the price, was well below TaylorMade's profit margin model. He also said they were outstanding irons but TaylorMade decided to go with one Titanium set of irons, the CGB's because they fall within their profit margin model because they are 200-300 dollars more per set.

Customer Service

Fine

Similar Products Used: All TaylorMade, Callaway Fusion, BB 2004
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
mnavarro   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 14, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R7 XD Graphite Stiff

My last of clubs are taylor made 300s, forged. They are pretty good clubs but I play less regularly and I wanted something that was a little more forgiving. When I hit a shot bad with my 300s the club would rattle out of my hands. Well I took the new clubs out to the range today and WOW. The ball explodes off the club face. I hit the clubs a minimum of 15 yards farther with no loss of accuracy. I swing my driver at about 100-105 mph. I was hitting my 7 iron 170. I think I will need to work something out with my wedges as I think I will have a gap between my pitching wedge and the rest of my existing clubs. I may have to purchase the sandwedge or the gap. These clubs are so much better than the fusions I was trying. Fusions felt dead. Also I was able to work the ball with the graphite shafts from left to right and right to left (with my 7 iron). I will be getting the lie adjusted tomorrow. I purchased them for 455 on ebay slightly used.

Similar Products Used: Fusions, Callaway Big Bertha, Taylormade 300, Taylormade r7, r7 XD.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
runamok27   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 21, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R7

These are the first brand new name brand set of irons I have ever bought. I used to have a set of used Taylor Made 320 irons and before that I had several sets of knock offs.

Compared to the 320's the R7's are about the same length. The ball flight is slightly lower but I had a tendency to balloon shots with the 320's so that lower trajectory is very nice. The R7's are definitely more forgiving but it is a little tougher to work the ball, especially, left to right shots. The 320's tended to ring my hands on off center hits but the R7's don't, although you can definitely tell when you don't hit them solid.

Overall, I would rate these clubs as very good and I highly recommend them to all but the best golfers or someone who likes to work the ball (usually a pretty good golfer).

If you want to hit the ball straighter and working the ball is not high on your list these are the irons for you.

I gave them a 4 for "Value Rating" because they aren't cheap but that could be due to them being brand new.

Customer Service

Don't know, I haven't used them.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made 320's.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Stevegolfs   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 10, 2006]
Model Reviewed: r7 xd

The new TM r7 xd's are hands down the best set of irons I have ever used. You won't find a longer hitting set of irons out there. My previous set of irons were the TM RAC HD irons. Good clubs but to high of a ball flight. They are better suited for seniors. The r7 XD's are long. I can now hit the 150 yard mark with an easy 8 iron. I get about 170 out of my 6 iron. I love these irons!!

Customer Service

TaylorMade reps were on hand to custom fit my clubs on the spot.

Similar Products Used: TM Rac HD, Wilson Staff, Top Flight, Mizuno mp 30.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
5
David   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade R7 XD

Before this purchase, I was using TaylorMade (1995 model) KNOCK-OFFS! I never used a REAL brand-name club in my life. It was time for a change, finally.

After trying many game improvement irons, my search narrowed down to the X-18, CG4, and R7 XD. These 3 are good clubs, however, the R7 XD's felt cleaner and easier to hit. And after using them on grass, I see what I was missing all along.

All my shots go straight. I already was a long hitter (175 with a 7 iron) but I am even longer with the R7 XDs (ball fires off the titanium face like I've never seen!). Miss hits stay online and if hit fat, still maintain good distance. Even my 3 and 5 iron which can be inconsistent, stayed straighter and longer than I have ever seen. These clubs are making me more exciting for the game of golf, if that is possible :)

I swing the club relatively hard but even the regular steel shafts were perfect. The only thing that was lacking in my game from moving onto the next level was consistency. These clubs are definitely going to provide that for me, in my run to be in the 70s! As a bonus, they gave me a free rescue club with the set. Great value!

All in all, you WILL hit long, straight, and clean with these clubs. I am very pleased and recommend them highly.

Customer Service

Have not used yet.

Similar Products Used: Tried X-18 and CG4
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Graham   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 22, 2006]
Model Reviewed: R7 XD Reg Steel Shaft

I tried hitting the Nike Slingshots, as well as the Cleveland CG4s at Golftown, and they were pretty comparable, I was waiting for someone to finish with the R7 XD, so I could compare all three. Once I hit the Taylormade, there was no comparison; I bought them brand new on E-Bay the next day for $499 US. I can't believe the improvement these irons have made to my game. My GIR are way up, and I've found that I'm a lot more confident using these irons. Even miss-hits off the toe are going straight for me. The thing I've found most impressive is the ball flight though, they get the ball up in a hurry, and the distance is unreal. It's true what Golf Digest's Hotlist says about the 6 iron. Let me know if you find one that goes farther. All in all, these are great game improving irons.

Customer Service

Not needed yet.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ozegolfer   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 22, 2006]
Model Reviewed: R7 XD

Today I finally got my new set of irons, the Taylor Made R7 XD's. Traded in a set of Hogans CFT, nothing but trouble with shafts breaking but thats another story.

Took them straight out to my course and can truely say these irons are everything that I hoped they would be. They are easily 1-2 clubs longer than my previous set on all the irons. I would normally hit an 8 iron to the front of a tricky par 3, today hit a 9 iron to the middle of the green into a stiff breeze.

The best part is that they are so easy to hit. Well done Taylor Made, had previous set of your clubs several years ago and was not impressed, these are far and away above everything else that is around, have tried lots of brands over the last 3 months, glad I tried these clubs.

Customer Service

Very good, had to get the irons made 3 degrees upright which meant they had to come from the States, took a liitle over 3 weeks but was kept informed the whole time.

Similar Products Used: Callaway Fusion
Hogan CFT
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 21-30 of 50 | Prev 10 | Next 10