TaylorMade RAC OS Irons

Do you like this product?

4.6

OUT OF 5
125 GolfReview reviews

3.8

OUT OF 5
282 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

407 REVIEWS

4.2

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

RAC OS

Engineered for maximum power. Features an oversize cavity-back head design with clean, appealing lines Tuned Performance Cartridge - Delivers high moment of inertia, provides better center of gravity location and provides more efficient transfer of energy to the ball RAC (Relative Amplitude Coefficient) pockets channel impact vibration to specific locations within the clubhead for outstanding feel at impact Wide, cambered gliding sole creates additional stability through the impact zone

Showing 111-120 of 125 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (125)

bboseley   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 25, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made RAC OS

I spent all of 3 days testing irons at an outdoor range and on a simulator. The 3 in the final cut were the RAC's, the TA7's and Hogan Edge. In addition to long and accurate - I was looking for feel, good setup, etc. Finally the RAC's won by a big margin, and I have not been disapointed on the course. Great clubs. I just hope TM will stay with them.

Customer Service

None required. By the way, I don't know what the guy who said TM didn't replace clubs was talking about. My brother and brother-in-law have both played TM's for years. Each has had outstanding service from TM.

Similar Products Used: Callaway X-14's; Yonex V-Mass 260; Cobra SS
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
merlin   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 25, 2003]

I purchased the OS to go on a golfing trip. The clubc it so bad that I had to rent clubs to finish the trip. On returning I returned the clubs to the retailer and wanted a refund. They said that Taylormade had to refuind the money. Well after contacting Taylormade and listening to their story that they NEVER accept return clubs and DO NOT warranty clubs that are defective ( two of the clubs had large gashes on them) and that I would have to get refund and warrant from the retailer. Needless to say, I would NOT recomend Taylormade to ANNYONE.

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
David Jahn   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made RAC OS Steel Stiff

Nice Irons..the look at set up is fabulous, not too big not to small. They have a forged feel at impact, produces nice straight shots. I have the Rifle Stiff shafts, it has taken a little getting use to, I was playing a sensicore stiff, just a different feel. It is just a little harder to work the ball, but all in all a great prodcut from Taylor Made. After a few more rounds I believe the adjustment will be made for being able to work the ball a little more. It is a great set of irons. I also bought the "oil quenched" 54 degree, with 14 degree of bounce..all I can say is it AWSOME!! It produces very nice stop and spin back shots, the set is complete. I would recomend.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Calloway X-14 and Mizuno
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
AJ Guerra   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 18, 2003]
Model Reviewed: RAC OS Stiff Steel

I guess Im the first 70 Shooter to review these. I am a 5 handicap. Lets see, where to begin. Ok, the distance of these irons is definitly no joke. It will take a week or two to get used to the distances. My Pitching wedge on a full shot with these is carrying about 150 - 155, which leaves a big gap between the Wedge and my Sand wedge. Ok, like someone else said, often times I am fighting a draw with these irons. I think the Facotry Stiff shafts just aren't strong enough. Alot of the solid strikes produce a High sweeping draw, which is pulling me 10-20 yards left of the pin sometimes. Maybe something else that needs some getting used to, or just a shaft change could help. The clubs are so forgiving! Almost impossible not to get them off the ground. I hardly hit a thin shot because I am so hell bent on Diviots every shot, but I hit a few thin on purpose and the shots lost maybe 10-15 yards, but had the trojectory of some reuglar irons. The irons are very hard to work though. With all the weighting and size of the clubs, its almost like a Dead straight shot is all they were meant to produce, and working a fade or draw will either produce a straight shot, or a really high draw. I have only played one round with the irons so this review may be a little premature, but I've played a fair share or irons to know whats what. These irons feel VERY solid, very balanced, and very powerful. And for the price, they are great. Just work with them if need be, I know I will be out on the courses for the next 10 days because you can tell once your get the hang of these irons, you can be deadly and Way under par.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Callaway VFT, Hogan Apex Edge CFT
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
PRBFAMILY   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 17, 2003]
Model Reviewed: RAC OS

EXTREMELY NICE CLUBS!!! TOOK ME A LONG TIME TO FINALLY CHOOSE A SET OF CLUBS!!! OUT OF THE MX-20, TA7, X-16, I3, ETC... THESE WERE THE MOST BEAUTIFUL, EXTREMELY FORGIVING, NICE AT ADDRESS, LONG AND POWERFUL CLUBS.... LIKE ADVERTISED!!! WOULD ADVISE TO ALL LEVELS OF PLAYERS TO GET.

Similar Products Used: YOU NAME IT I'VE TRIED THEM!!!! NEXT BEST THING IS THE MX-20'S!!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Darin   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 17, 2003]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade RAC OS

Just bought these beauties and was immediately impressed with the results. While I don't find them a whole lot longer than my old clubs (Cobra II's), I think I hit them about 75% better, meaning a more pure, solid contact almost all of the time. The ball flight is much higher and stronger than I used to get, resulting in a whole lot more GIR. The low irons are very easy to hit and do tend to travel about 10-15 yards further than I was used to. The mid and high irons are slightly longer, but the ball flight is just more consistant. These are very nice clubs....in the words of Jim Rome, "RAC 'EM!!!!!"

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: TaylorMade 320 Driver T Made has got it figured out!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Josh Elliott   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 16, 2003]
Model Reviewed: RAC OS

Well i bought a good deal 100 dollars off golfsmith. These are LONG!!! I used to hit seven Iron at 150 with Hogan apex plus but now im hitting 3/4 9 iron or a firm PW. They are accurate but a slight tendency to go a lil left but not to muchSpin and feel is great i hits and holds. I have stiff flex. Very forgiving id u are a beginner buy these and if u are a vetran buy these they are for every one. 2 Thumbs Up

Similar Products Used: Ben Hogan Apex Plus Cleveland TA3 the best irons really
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Golf Nut   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 12, 2003]
Model Reviewed: TM RAC OS

Best thing Taylor has done in the last 5 years. Easy to hit, solid as hell, sets up great, smooth feel and good looks. Longer than most irons because they are a little stronger (PW is 45 degrees, not standard 48...rest of set similarly stronger) Still high enough flight even though they are stronger. Picked up about 7-10 yards per club. Head insert gives soft feel, almost like a forged club. Offset just enough and head is big enough without being like a clunky Callaway. Can still cut through the rough, or hit out of hard stuff without the old "bounce and skull." Special ordered with Rifle 5.5 progressive shaft was great. Even if it's just in my head, it sure makes them look cool. Overall great clubs at a very reasonable price compared to a lot of expensive stuff out there that cant hold Taylor's jock. Buy them...you'll like them.

Customer Service

Edwin Watts (Fort Lauderdale) was great. Spent about 2 hours with me and about 15 different sets of irons. Those guys know their stuff.

Similar Products Used: Hogan Apex Edge, Cobra SS, Callaway X-16, Ping I3+, Adams Tight Lies GT
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
George Sik   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: TM RAC OS

From a beginner using Armour clubs, I decided to upgrade to better clubs. So after reading reviews of brand names like Callaway, Mizuno, Titlest, I decided on the TM RAC OS. Straight away I like the clubs because they were lighter and easy to send the ball further and also quite forgiving. With a few lessons my score have dropped from 90's to 89. My coach think I can go even lower and I am looking forward to proving him correct.

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armour tournament edition.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
e135800   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 14, 2003]

I just got these after reading all the reviews. I have to say these are the smoothest, highest, and most accurate irons I have ever owned. I think they'll take me into the 80's.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Callaway hawkeye tungston insert.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 111-120 of 125 | Prev 10 | Next 10