Wilson Deep Red Drivers

Do you like this product?

4.7

OUT OF 5
206 GolfReview reviews

3.6

OUT OF 5
75 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

281 REVIEWS

4.2

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

Deep Red

GO DEEP. GO STRAIGHT. Wilson is pleased to introduce the new Deep Red Fat Shaft Driver. With revolutionary head and shaft technology, it is the most accurate driver in golf. Rated "#1 in Playability" by Rankmark.

Showing 11-20 of 206 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (206)

Latchigo   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 18, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red Driver 12 degree light flex

Tried this at a demo day. I specified that I normally use a three wood for accuracy off the tees, unless the fairway is wide open. Pro recommended the light flex and high loft on that basis. It was certainly easy to hit. Teed up higher than my old driver it gave a high flight path. It went straight. I managed to pull it on occasion, but that was me not the club. Difficult to get one of those nasty vicious fades though I did manage it with experimentation. I would certainly feel confident about hitting this club straight if I were out on the course. Not yet ready to buy one because I am still looking for the perfect driver at a reasonable price. Would not rule this one out though - especially if they start discounting. Different sound to my cobra woods if that sort of thing is important to you. Wilson are less expensive than other brands but all drivers are overpriced as far as I am concerned. Value rating is based on this. Best piece of advice I can give is do not be swayed by any reviews. Try all clubs for yourself before you purchase.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: The new Ping (350 job), Cobra 350 offset, Hippo, new Mizuno, various others
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
jmac1   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 26, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red II - Distance 10.5

I started playing seriously (more than just a few times a year) two years ago. During that time I have improved and seen my handicap drop from a 21 to a 14. My goal is to keep improving and get it down to single digits, so I decided to upgrade from my $30 cheapo driver. My problem has always been consistency off the tee. I usually have good distance, but am all over the place accuracy-wise. Sometimes I slice, other times I hook, and both can be extreme. I decided on the Wilson after the reviews on here and the ratings on Rankmark.com. I have played 10 or so rounds with the new Wilson driver and love it. My distance has improved consistenly 20 yards, and my accuracy is WAY better. Now when I slice or hook, I end up just off the fairway, instead of OB. I have not tried many other drivers, but the ones I have tried don't give me the accuracy of the Wilson.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Big Hippo Taylor Made 360 Taylor Made R580
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
catlike   Shoots in the 100s [Dec 17, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Deep Red 425cc with regular shaft

I only took up golf a year ago and it has taken me this long to work out that club selection is a very personal thing. I bought this driver based on the reviews on this site and a few hits at the range to try, the trouble was that my swing was awful back then and I thought I could adapt to the club - WRONG! After months and months of savage slicing and the occasional acceptable fade at best, I picked up an Adams GT363 to try and finally found out what it's like to hit a good drive. All this time I have been adding at least 2 shots per hole getting out of trees and thick rough - aaarrghh! Don't get me wrong - I am not knocking the Deep Red, it is obviously a good club based on the reviews but it's not for my swing. In hindsight I should have put more effort into head size and shaft selection, the regular shaft is way too whippy for me. Perhaps if I'd gotten the Xtra siff shaft and slightly smaller head I'd still be using a Deep Red today? My advice to other newbies - do a lot of testing before settling on a new driver or any other club for that matter.

Customer Service

Not needed

OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
cocky   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red Fat Shaft Driver (425cc)

I have only been playing for about a year. I had trouble keeping my drives in the fairway with my old driver. I am a big boy, 50, and have no problem with distance. But, if it's in the woods, who cares how far? The Fat Shaft reduces twist on mis-hit shots and the combination of that and the big face and large sweet-spot really help to keep the ball in the fairway. I am hitting down the middle and spending much less time in the woods and roughs, it is a much more pleasant game when played on the grass! The feel of the club and the response to a good shot is a very pleasing feel and sound. The grip and balance of the club is very good. The finish of the club is great. The "Deep Red" glow looks good and makes me feel that I bought a high-quality tool. The club face looks as good as the day that I bought it. The finish is somewhat fragile and it needs to stay in the cover, but I guess that is true of them all. It also seemed to be priced lower that comparable clubs. I give this club credit for moving my game from triple digits to the low-90s and it is now the favorite thing in my bag. I want the fairway woods next.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: MacGregor, Cleveland, Titleist, Taylor-Made
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
rodneyv   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red II Distance 9*

I recently purchased the Wilson Deep Red II Distance driver with a 9* loft. I bought the club off of Ebay and the shaft had been cut down 2" shorter. I decided to play with it before I had the standard length shaft put back in it. I really loved the way I hit this club. I have recently played with the Taylor Made 320 Ti and the Calloway Big Bertha and I can hit the Wilson Deep Red with more accuracy and more distance consistently. I did not see a major increase in distance but I hit the fairway a whole lot more than I am used to which makes this club worth every penny. I would even pay full price for it if there was no such thing as Ebay but as long as I have Ebay, i'll keep paying less than half price for some stuff. I really like the Grafalloy Fat Shaft with a .428 tip in the Stiff flex. It seems to be pretty low torque. The grip is nice. The club head is beautiful. It is a deep cherry red. The face of the club has a sound resembling most oversized drivers, kind of a loud high pitch "tink" when the ball is struck. I plan to soon purchase the 3 wood and 5 wood in the Wilson Deep Red II. I would definately recommend this club to someone who is looking to hit the ball straighter with more consitency. I can't really commment on the distance, I'm 6'3" and weigh about 220lbs. and I don't have a problem getting good distance with this club or other clubs I have used. I would much rather be in the fairway than to hit a driver 20 yards further into the woods. The only negative thing I can say about it is the price if someone was to purchase it new. It is priced similar to other drivers in its class but it still is very expensive in my book. Be sure to check Ebay if you decide to buy one.

Customer Service

So far they have been great. I talked to them about getting my 43" shaft replaced with the 45" standard length shaft and they were easy to get in touch with and nice to deal with. They give me an address to ship the club to and said it would be a 10 day turn-around so that is pretty good.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made 320 Ti, Calloway Bertha's, Golf Gear Tsunami
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
jam-jam   Shoots in the 100s [Oct 20, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Fat Shaft Deep Red

I started playing gold about two years ago and have never been able to really hit the driver that came with my starter clubs. I recently bought some beter irons and I decided that I should try a beter driver too, and so after reading many reviews I bought the original Wilson Deep Red (not the Deep Red II). I tried it daily for about 2 weeks at the driving range but just could not control the ball and kept slicing really-really bad. I gave up yesterday and traded it in for a loss of $70. Well at least I tried :-( I bought a 4 wood and have had much better luck with it. I must have been my height (5' 6"), the long driver shaft , club's 9 degree loft, and my not so perfect swing that led to the the bad slices. But I will take comfort in the fact that I can hit my Mizuno 3 wood and Liquidmetal 4 wood much longer and straighter than this Wilson Deep Red. It looks beautiful but just didn't work for me ... but so many other reviewers can't be all wrong so I wont bash this club - instead I'll work on my swing ...

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
Bar Fan   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 16, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Deep Red Fat Shaft 425cc

PRECISION that is the main asset of this wonderful patent... Even if I concede 10-15 yards (is it really a downside?), I still can hit a good 225-240 right down the middle of the fairway and this with consistency (that was missing to my driving game). I've been so impressed and satified that I am shopping for fairway woods. Only ctiticism... Wilson's headcover conceptor should be demoted!!!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made 580 Callaway ERC Ping ISI (RUD) 8.5 degrees Callaway Biggest Big Bertha 8 degrees
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Harley3000   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 14, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red II Distance

I'm 56 and I can consistantly hit straight 225-260 yard drives with this club. I'll give up 10-15 fifteen yards distance for hitting fairways anytime. The club has great sound at impact and the deep red color instills confidence at address. Check out Rankin.com and see how it tested.

Similar Products Used: Cobra 427
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ron Schoenbeck   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 09, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red II 10.5 Driver Stiff Flex Distance

This driver is incredible - hit it straight every time and even on a miss hit it still goes a long ways. I hit about 10 drivers and this one feels the best by far and might fly about 5-7 yards less than some of the others but always right in the middle. The Cobra 427 SS was the same distance and off to the right over 50% of the time. For the best feel and accuracy I recommend this driver!! Very forgiving and easy to hit.

Similar Products Used: Cobra SS 427, Cleveland Launcher 400, Tsuami
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
djYz   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 07, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red II - Distance

Well, as advertised, this IS the straightest, most forgiving club out there. They did some stuff so that the weight is at the bottom of the head and positioned it so the shaft won't twist open on impact. Also the low torque fat shaft will help keep it square every time. Anyway, with that said, the club gives you no feel, and no REAL power. Compared to my 380 cobra, i was losing 10+ yards everytime. Sure I was always on the fairway, but it really takes the "fun" out of the big drive. If have the money, buy this one for the courses with tight fairways, and a cobra for those airport runway type fairways. But ya, very forgiving, and bet the DRII - MAXX will be even better.

Customer Service

Not required.

Similar Products Used: 380 cobra, TMR510NC, 400 launcher, TM320, SMT455.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Showing 11-20 of 206 | Prev 10 | Next 10