Wilson Deep Red Fat Shaft Irons

Do you like this product?

4.6

OUT OF 5
64 GolfReview reviews

3.7

OUT OF 5
47 GolfReview QIK ratings

0

OUT OF 5
0 reviews across the web

Do you own
this product?

- OR -

QIK RATE IT!!

 

PRODUCT SCORE

111 REVIEWS

4.2

OUT OF 5

SEE DETAILS >>

Deep Red Fat Shaft

Large, oversize face area allows for larger sweetspot for maximum forgiveness on off-center hits

Showing 21-30 of 64 | Prev 10 | Next 10

User Reviews (64)

Billy10   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 08, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red Irons

These clubs are amazing! The feel and distance are awesome. You hit the ball right where you want and far. I hit the TaylorMade RAC, Callaway BB, Cleveland TA/5, and the Titelist 822OS. These were the best out of the bunch by far. The best kept secret in golf. Of all the advice I sought out NO ONE suggested the Wilson's. I tried them om a whim and WOW am I glad I did. If you shoot between 80-100 you will LOVE these clubs!!! 10 out of 10

Customer Service

N/A

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
bogey bob willis   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 13, 2003]
Model Reviewed: deep red irons 5 to 9, P, G, SW

Best of the best. I have tried pings, taylor made RAC OS and LT, Titleist, Callaway X-16, 2002 Big Bertha, you name it. Nothing comes even close to the feel and accuracy of these clubs in regular flex steel shafts. Distances 8 iron 155, 7 iron 165, 6 iron 175 etc..

Customer Service

Did not need to use

Similar Products Used: See above
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Bruce Moessinger   Shoots in the 100s [Sep 12, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Fat Shaft Irons - Graphite Shafts

LONG, STRONG, & STRAIGHT!! I'm not kidding. I've been playing since I was a kid (just turned 49), and I consistently shoot in the mid-80s, lower 80s when I'm playing alot, and on those rare occasions every few years I break 80. No longer. With the graphite Deep Red Fat Shafts I'm consistently a solid 15-20 yards longer than at any other time in my life, no matter what club (Calloway VFT, Ping I3, etc.) What folks have said about the PW being 125 yards is right on. 135-140 for the 9, 150 for the 8, etc. Now, instead of the rare occasion when I break 80 I expect to and so far haven't been disappointed! Played a quick nine yesterday and shot 38. The most pleasant surprise has been the ease of hitting the long irons. Also, if you hit off-center it doesn't feel too good, but I haven't noticed much, if any, loss of distance. Weird, but great!! I hear lots of commetns about workability. But for my game, and my money, who need workability when you can hit it long and straight every time! It would be hard to make a mistake with these clubs, I'd recommend them to anyone.

Similar Products Used: Calloway VFT Ping I3
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ben C   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 08, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red Graphite (reg)

I just switched from a stiff flex to a regular flex, and it's much better for me. As indicated, I shoot in the 90s and sometimes in the 100s. Consistency has yet to be obtained by me, so my fat shots really hurt sometimes. But I am improving everyday, and I think these irons are helping. I have placed masking tape on the head of these irons to view ball contact, and even on mis-hits, the ball launches far and away, although it doesn't feel and sound good. It's pretty remarkable that an otherwise ugly shot will still go straight. The biggest problem I think is that when you really hit it in the sweet spot, the ball REALLY launches, and it messes with your club selection. Non-perfect 9 iron shots, for example, will get me 115 yds. But if hit sweetly, it'll generate 135 yds. I am not as a position to comment on how to "work" the ball with these irons. I played with the Hypercarbons, and the Deep Reds, and the rubber inserts have done nothing, in my opinion. But the increase in club face, especially the long irons, if nothing else, helps me psychologically because it looks that much bigger. Everything helps!

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: x-14's, the new callaways (forgot the name), and the latest mizunos (also forgot the name)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
keith   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 25, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wison Deep Red Fat Shaft Irons

Had a set of 845 Oversize Tommy Armour for the last 5 years. Bogey golfer. Heard about the Deep Reds in a golf mag. Waffled for months between those and Ping I/3. But couldn't afford the price of either. Friend of mine happened to have a used set of the Wilsons. I was at the range and was crushing the ball. It was like nirvana. Found a used set of steel. I used to golf in the low/mid 90's. Last 2 rounds with these clubs have been 84/85. Straighter and farther. Had a 125 par 3, used the pitch, and overshot into the woods, but somehow I was glad to see the club working so well. Just a great set of irons. Great confidence builder. I think my game has dropped 5-10 strokes, simply because the forgivenes. Better accuracy. If in doubt, just go the local golf store and swing a set.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
stevew05   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 08, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red Steel Reg

When I first bought these clubs last year they added significant distance; about 10-15 yards avg. This year I have taken a little off my swing speed to gain greater control but I lost all the distance I gained last year and then some. Where last year I was hitting my 6 iron almost 200yds this year itís about 140yds, and only if I catch it solid. These clubs seem to be designed for a harder hitter and even when I was hitting them solid last year I didnít feel like I was getting very good feel from them. Miss-hits gave a lot of feedback and shots hit off center sounded and felt terrible; even with good contact you get a Ďsmackí sound. I took a couple shots with my brotherís Cleveland TA5 gunmetal reg flex, using his 6 iron and with the same swing speed my ball traveled further higher and straighter. I went from 140yds with the Wilson 6 iron to 160 with the TA5ís; the ball just seemed to get up in the air easier with the TA5. I found that if I hit my 6 harder I could get the same distance of 160. My brother having tried my 6 iron even said the feel just wasnít there. Miss-Hits with the TA5 were a lot more forgiving and the sound and feel was a lot better. The Fat Shaft technology does instill some confidence in your swing in the sense that you know if you swing harder and hit one fat youíre not afraid that you may damage the club. The Fat Shaft is definitely a sturdy club. Obviously these clubs do not suit my swing any longer. The distance and accuracy lost between this and last year has made me consider buying new clubs. If I can hit a TA5 160yds with my current swing and only 140yds with the Wilson I think it is time to move on.

Customer Service

I havenít had to deal with Wilson with these clubs. I had an older set where the club head flew off my 5 iron at the driving range and I was able to return the club head for a new club without any trouble under the 1 year warranty.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland TA5 Gunmetal.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
Lige   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 28, 2003]

I have been playing for four years. I am self taught and consistency is my biggest problem. No club can erase a bad swing but when I swing right, these clubs certanly are very long and very straight. In example, I recently hit a 5-Iron easy for a smooth shot at a 190 yd. par 3. It was right on the money landing just short and one hopping to within 2 ft. The next time I played the hole the flag was in the back so I swung harder with the same 5-Iron. Too hard as it turned out because the ball went over the green and out of bounds. That shot was a 230 yd carry in the air and one hopped another 10 yds out of bounds! Another example is when I first got the clubs. I was looking at exactly 150 in to the middle of the green. I took an 8-Iron thinking I would swing hard because I needed a more lofted club than my usual 7-Iron for this green. Again I didnt realize just how far these clubs were until I walked down to the blind green and found my ball 30+ yds. behind the green. This had to be a carry of 170+! Distance? Yes! Accuracy? Yes! Again, my problem is consistency, but when I control my body rotation these clubs are DEAD STRAIGHT! The ball doesnt move a little left or a little right and then come back like some clubs. The ball comes off these clubs like a rocket and is on a rope straight down your setup line. Another aspect I like is the trajectory. These clubs dont balloon the ball straight up getting into the wind. They have a peircing, pro-like trajectory that allows for more consistent appraches. These are fantastic clubs for mid to high handicappers or really anyone who wants be long and straight. As for working the ball, I'm not good enough to worry about that, but I'll take long and straight all day. These clubs really beg you to go for the green. Since they are so long you will be hitting a more lofted club onto the green which is what all golfers want. Also, because they are so long I can tee off with my 3-Iron and get 240-250 yds. instead of trying to control a 3-wood on a tight fairway. I may be raving about the distance but make no mistake, these are just as straight as they are long. It feels good to crush a shot 2 club lengths farther than you used to, but it feels even better to set one down a couple of feet from the stick with a 5-Iron at 190-200 yds. Some of the other reviews talked about the PW being so long, but all of the clubs are long and you will have to change your club selection from what you would normally hit. In example, I hit my PW about 130 with a normal full swing but, I could easily get 145-150 if I swung hard. That is the options you will have with these clubs. In conclusion, I love these clubs. Knowing what I know now, I would have paid double for what I did for my set.

Customer Service

never used it

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
theUbend   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 28, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red irons

I just moved to Luxembourg, and went to check out a golf club about which I'd heard good things. Armed with my golf bag, my driver, putter and wedge, I asked the pro to lend me a set of irons, so I wound up with these Deep Reds ( 3-pw ). For years I played with Mizuno T-zoid pro forged, with S400 shafts, and was very happy with them. I find them to be a beautiful and practical club for my game. But I gave them away to my nephew a year ago, when my wife was expecting a baby, nd I didn't see myself getting to play too much for quite some time. I suppose I must have been something of a snob. I have always played with forged blades / semi-blades, and had little time for big headed gimmicky game improvement clubs - they were for women and hackers. But I have realised that I have been missing something. I went round this 7050 yard course in 76 with these borrowed sticks, and I felt so confident with them in my hands. On one 500 yard par five, I hit a six iron over 200 yards to within 6 feet to set up an eagle. I have never hit a full six iron anywhere near that distance before without busting every sinew and probably losing my ball. These clubs seemed to be 2 clubs longer than my Mizunos - clubs I really used to appreciate. Standing over the shot was comfortable too. After years of using blades, I hate the sight of a great clump of metal sitting beside my ball ( ŗ la Callaways, for example ) but these are easy on the eye, and don't distract you from squaring the face at address. The fat shafts appear to do as they say as well. Shots went exactly where they were aimed. I have very fast hands, which can cause some horrible hooks when I'm off my game or uptight, but I never saw one such shot with these things. I will concur with an earlier reviewer, though, by saying that the pitching wedge suffers by also being far longer than expected. I am used to hitting a full PW about 95 to 100 yards, with a narrower stance and a compact easy swing. These WIlsons were 25 yards longer, which is an enormous difference, so I would probably opt to carry a forged wedge (like a Cleveland or Mizuno etc ) or something with about a 56 degree face as well to fill this roll. This was a problem, because one thing that so called game improvement clubs lose over forged blades is a sense of feel, and this Wilson wedge really launches the ball even from close quarters. So, to wrap up, I am a convert. These are super clubs, attractive, accurate, long and high. I would advise you to drop the pitching wedge, and perhaps carry a 2 iron ( as I intend to do ) instead. Then go and find a real forged wedge for the close in stuff which depends so much on touch.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
cerebro   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 23, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Deep Red Irons

I've been playing for just over a year and play off 22. I got the deep reds about 6 mnths ago and im sure glad I did, i tried every set of irons before I bought these and since i bought them and have found nothing that is as forgiving and nice to swing. Custom fit was free which was a big +. Everyone who has tried my clubs has loved them, even a couple of pro's and single figure guys. Highly recommended.

Customer Service

Got a nice certificate from wilson, each club had my name on it (nice touch) the grip on my sandwedge came unstuck at the bottom they replaced the whole club with in 48hours!

Similar Products Used: Callaway big bertha and VFT, mizuno comp ct and Mx15. Taylor made RAC, Ping i3 and i3+.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
JBui   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 22, 2003]

These are the best set of irons ever made. I think if you never tried these irons you should. cause i will like them. trust me it helped me a lot. go somewhere and try them out. these are the best irons thats what i think. and they dont give you fedback when you hit the ball so go out their and try them out.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 21-30 of 64 | Prev 10 | Next 10